hiking Sisters Rocks

Sisters Rock, an Oregon State Park. We’ve driven by it hundreds of times. It kept calling to us. We finally picked a perfect day… comfortably warm with very little breeze. Some clouds might have been nice, alas not this day…

Sisters_Rock-3215

Our destination as seen not far from the pullout from Hwy 101.

SistersRocks

The three rocks jut out into the sea, providing some marvelous views of the coast both north and south. There’s a small parking area, often filled with very large puddles during the rainy season. The park is pretty much undeveloped (something I like about our coastal beaches).

Sisters_Rock-3214

Looking north from a spot near the beginning of the hike. The theme here is lots of rocks dropped from the coast, not to mention the monoliths the park is named for.

Sisters_Rock-3217

The view looking farther north to Humbug Mountain (also a State Park complete with a campground).

Sisters_Rock-3220

Heading down the trail toward the larger sister. The trail is a gravel road that starts with a locked gate from the parking space. The gate is meant to keep vehicles out, not hikers. The road is remnants of an old harbor settlement. It descends roughly 160 feet.

Sisters_Rock-3221

The view to the south, toward Gold Beach.

Sisters_Rock-3229

This time of year the grasses and flowers have turned to golden brown.

Sisters_Rock-3230

The trail makes for a relatively easy hike, but the Sisters Rocks might present some serious challenges with lots of loose rocks. We’ll get a closer look in time.

Sisters_Rock-3237

The gravel trail looking back toward the highway (not easily seen in this shot).

Sisters_Rock-3233

A closer look at the scattered rocks and the coastal range of mountains beyond them.

We were not alone by any means. This Great Blue Heron opted not to stick around for a visit.

Sisters_Rock-3249

The end of the gravel road where we saw the sea cave carved into the largest Sister by waves. It’s possible to see the two smaller openings from this south side. There is a larger opening on the north end. I wasn’t brave enough to try to explore it, but there’s a youTube video of someone who did.

Sisters_Rock-3251

A Rock Wren. Apparently an infrequent visitor to the coast, though its territory does cover parts of the nearby coastal range. To be continued…

To my surprise, I felt a certain springy keenness. I was ready to hike. I had waited months for this day, after all, even if it had been mostly with foreboding. I wanted to see what was out there. All over America today people would be dragging themselves to work, stuck in traffic jams, wreathed in exhaust smoke. I was going for a walk in the woods. I was more than ready for this. 
― Bill BrysonA Walk in the Woods

 

15 thoughts on “hiking Sisters Rocks

  1. Oh man, this is gorgeous. I went to Oregon for a couple of days this past summer and it was just this stunning. I live in a landlocked state so I don’t get ocean like this, but this makes me want to go back.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing what must have been a wonderful day for you and Eric Gunta. The photographs are superb! The photograph of the wren is interesting. Very different to the British wrens that hop about the hedgerows here. They’re really quite secretive but I was lucky to have a hedge opposite my greenhouse and I used to sit in there and it wouldn’t be long before I’d see the wrens, always busy but so well camouflaged it was quite difficult to follow them. 🙂

    Like

    • The day was heavenly! It seems we have quite a number of different wrens. It took Eric (my bird expert) quite a while to figure out exactly what he had here. I love catching all this birds, but the little ones move so very fast. It isn’t easy!

      Like

  3. Fabulous! I’m so happy for you both, after all the work you’ve been doing. It must have been the best day. The photos are beautiful, especially the 1st & 5th, for me. And the Rock wren – what luck! Wrens are so pert and cheerful, aren’t they? And recognizable as wrens across species, which I appreciate. The caves are intriguing – I’ll have to check out he video now. I should be packing…

    Like

    • Thanks ever so much for taking time out from your packing to visit and comment. It was indeed an utterly fabulous day. The curtains waited (tho they’re now done) and the painting should be slowing down pretty quick. We’re hoping to have some time left over to explore before the winter storms move in. I need Eric to spot and identify the birdlife. He’s really good at it. Me, not so much, but I’m slowly learning.
      Once again, I want to wish you a truly mellow visit to your previous life! O_o

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m truly in heaven… this spot is a mere 20 miles (give or take) from home, with lots more exciting bits to explore. I think the thing that makes it all the more treasured is that it’s pretty much undeveloped and not all too close to big cities, so we don’t get inundated. Perhaps just a wee bit during the summer months or weekends, but this time of year we can often find the beaches or hikes pretty much all to ourselves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

