the aerie

aerie-3192Still a work in progress… but the bat house is filled to capacity.

Everyone must leave something behind when he dies, my grandfather said. A child or a book or a painting or a house or a wall built or a pair of shoes made. Or a garden planted. Something your hand touched some way so your soul has somewhere to go when you die, and when people look at that tree or that flower you planted, you’re there. 

It doesn’t matter what you do, he said, so long as you change something from the way it was before you touched it into something that’s like you after you take your hands away. The difference between the man who just cuts lawns and a real gardener is in the touching, he said. The lawn-cutter might just as well not have been there at all; the gardener will be there a lifetime. 
― Ray BradburyFahrenheit 451

19 thoughts on “the aerie

  1. Hi there – beautiful colors on the house, love the little touch of red…and I think i see the bat house. Was it already there, or did you put it up? How long did it take for them to come? That’s very cool! The quote is a good reminder, as I think you said in another comment. have a good weekend! Congrats again, and again! You both deserve it.

    Like

    • Thanks. I wasn’t sure about the red, but had to offset all the green. Turns out I’m very pleased with that touch. We put the bat house up. We had bats in the attic spaces, so we gave them an option when Eric sealed the spots where they were getting in. He waited for them all to evacuate one night and they resettled in the new houses (one at each end of the house). In other words it didn’t take them long to find their new homes.
      We took Thursday off for a lovely hike. Have yet to find time to post it. More painting yet to do… now it’s shelving… need to get it done while I can still keep the paint smells outside.
      I can’t help but wonder if we’ll EVER be done?

      Like

  2. Hahahah! I made the same mistake at first! Like the others, I love how your lovely house is tucked in there. The colors you chose are delightful!
    That was one of my favorite books. I should go back and reread it. He was from around here, which I always thought was fun.

    Like

    • I sort of suspected folks might trip over the ‘bat house’ mention, but it was such a fun way to mention it that I couldn’t resist. The bat house means I get to see them head out as the sun sets. At night I can hear them land with a soft muffled thump. It’s all quite fun!
      I need to reread that quote every now and then to remind me what really counts. This house project has been a lot of fun in that respect. It’s certainly kept me busy and probably out of mischief! It’s great to see things starting to fall into place leaving a bit more time to play and blog! 😀

      Like

    • Glad you like my choice of colors. The gray helped to blend the house in a bit better than the cream color it was. I’ve never been fond of all the trim and roof being green. I love nature’s green, but generally not the manmade version. We painted some of it gray. The red was an afterthought, but I think it works to add just a bit of ‘pop’.

      Like

  3. The ‘bat’ house looks extraordinarily beautiful and seems to have become part of the landscape. I love the extract from Ray Bradbury. Well worth remembering.

    Like

    • I’m tickled that you think I’m referring to our house in your comment (if I understand you correctly), but we actually mounted a real house for bats for insect control! 🙂 It’s that rectangular box attached near the peak of the roof.

      Like

    • Thanks, Scott!! In American-speak, I’d interpret your comment to mean you’ll be taking us off in a spaceship or boat or even a train perhaps? I simply love your comments because they keep me on my toes trying to figure out what you’re trying to convey! 😀 I can’t help but wonder if you encounter the problem in reverse when conversing with us on the other side of the pond. 😉

      Like

      • Yes although we speak the same mother tounge we use words differently. We I have to I write rather decent formal English. However when I’m blogging I tend to shoot from the hip… and return to my dyslexic best . So if I firmalise my last comment – that may help 😎

        A quiet brilliant approach to life, a methodology I would like to try myself.
        I suppose when I get excited I write what I think- shoot from the hip which is fine for me as I thought it – tough for someone trying to interpret me lol. I also Throw in lots of scottishism which our English cousins struggle with, never mind you chaps Stateside… Anyway a great blog!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • I more or less guessed as much, but never quite sure given the scottishisms. Then again I sometimes wonder if you or others have the same problem with the stateside chaps? It’s all in good fun, though! Auto correct ought to be banned though. It’s a royal pain in the a##. O_o

          Like

Leave a Reply

