the view…

from my window.view-3153I could get really annoyed at the power lines, but I’ll save it for another day. I once asked a guy from the power company why they didn’t bury the unsightly lines and was told that due to landslides (which really do occur quite often here) it was easier to repair them when they are above ground. I suppose that as long as I want electricity from the power company I’ll just have to put up with them. You don’t always get what you want…

view-3152

A zoomed shot of the mist creeping over the hills. This was where we watched the smoke from the wildfire form dense plumes not long ago, or one where we couldn’t see the hills for the smoke. Luckily, in this shot, it’s merely mist rising from the ridges.

view-3156

Looking down at the creek, the water (for the moment) is so clear that you can see the rocks in the stream bed. It’s hard to see from this distance, but there is water there. If it was video, you’d see the movement and sparkle.view-3162

Taking a bit of inspiration from Lynn at BlueBrightly, I looked just that little bit closer at leaves and bark and twigs down there. I love the texture and appearance of the Alder trees.

view-3160

My mother used to love birch trees from her native Latvia. I think of alders and aspens as being pretty close in appearance… the lighter papery bark perhaps.

view-3161

It’ll be fun to document the change of seasons from my perch, looking down at the creek and vegetation.

view-3163

There is a distinct feel of autumn in the air now. These images from yesterday were taken when the sun was playing hide and seek through the puffy clouds. Today is a bit too dark and dreary to inspire the one behind the lens. It happens occasionally.

view-3159

Some of you may know that converting to B&W is completely out of character for me, but again I can thank (or blame?) Lynn for inspiring me to give it a try. I’m not sure I get it because I still don’t quite understand what it’s all about and it likely shows…Β But it can’t hurt to expand my horizons. Or to try. It’s never too late! πŸ˜€ (or so they say)

lizzie-2426

Last, but not least, there’s the laughing Buddha to greet those who come and go. He knows the long, strange journey has been well worth it.

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.Β 
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

23 thoughts on “the view…

    • It IS some gorgeous country, but I do have to work a bit at ignoring the power lines. I’m almost embarrassed at the b&w shot, but thank you for the compliment. It’s just sooooo…. well, BUSY!!! I think I still have a way to go before I get the concept. πŸ˜€

      Like

  1. Another really great post, Gunta. I liked seeing your new views, so spacious and vast, and the elegant alders. It must be a great relief to see just rising mist through the trees, rather than the burning fire. I know I was relieved to see it. That Buddha at the end, with the lizard on his head, tail curling into the eye, was absolutely delightful. And a beautiful quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson, too. (Also, thanks for adding my post of today into the side column, that’s so kind.) My warmest wishes to you, dear Gunta — I’m so glad you are settling in to your new place.

    Like

  2. A beautiful view, and with autumn arrived it looks like it will be a fine season of some recover as fire season ends (hopefully). And have to love the laughing Buddha, always brings a smile to my face.

    Like

    • Autumn is definitely in the air. With the fire 97% contained we’re all breathing easier. The Buddha is such a charming reminder to keep the fun in life! Thank you for the sweet visits and comments!

      Like

  3. Yes, it’s going to be wonderful to follow the seasons with you, with the hills and the creek and the alders, not to mention the shore nearby. I feel like alders are like birch trees, too, having loved birches back east. It’s nice to know that was your mother’s favorite in the old country. Joe & I once bought a very small carved box made of birch from an older Russian man, it’s a tradition that maybe is done in Latvia too.
    Thank you for the mentions and I’m glad you’re trying different things, if only to make it clear why you do what you do! πŸ˜‰ I really like the alder photos. Black and white can be a good way to show the forms and textures of things, but yes, color is very beautiful, especially now.
    I have an outdoor buddha too, that’s moved around with me a bit…it’s on the deck near the bird feeders now, and little chickadees and nuthatches often perch on it.

    Like

    • I have some very small carvings from Latvia. You have me wondering if perhaps they’re made of birch. Perhaps Eric will know. Oddly enough the two cultures are quite similar, though Russia can be quite a bully when it comes to allowing other traditions to thrive.
      Why doesn’t it surprise me that you also have an outdoor buddha… I also have a favorite smaller one that has found his place of honor in the dining room window. There’s something about buddhas that make me happy. πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Thank you ever so much! Looking out at some ducks in the creek just now just reminds me how very much the more was worth it. Especially now that the wildfire is 97% contained! πŸ˜€

      Like

    • I can’t begin to imagine how lovely and serene it will be once we’ve finished up the last of the major work on the house. Yeah… it would be nice to have those wires buried, but I guess you just can’t have it all. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • I suspect you won’t have half as much fun as I will, but it makes me happy that you’re along for the ride. This little hideaway is quite heavenly. The view is pretty pleasing and the sounds, except for an occasional car going by, are all delightful. The Buddha was given to me back at the old house, but he really seems to have found his niche here. πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. What a lovely view you have, Gunta.

    Many nature images convert quite readily to B & W, but one does need strong contrast (unless you’re great at photo editing – which I’m not).

    I keep looking at my Ansel Adams book for B & W nature inspiration, but even he did a lot of work in the darkroom to get his fantastic B & W landscapes, so it can’t be easy to capture B & W.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Perhaps the view explains why we went to all the trouble of moving here? I suspect that I love color (colour to you!) too much to ever figure out why people like to eliminate it. Good ole Ansel did B&W because he didn’t have color film back in his day. These days we do what he did in the darkroom through software. It’s a shame we can’t see what he might have done with color. O_o

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

