a walk to the falls

Still reliving our Sunday hike through the woods with two wonderful waterfalls to entice us.

Falls-1522

We enjoyed the stroll perhaps at a slightly faster clip than this wood snail. I did try to identify it since it isn’t your ordinary garden snail, but I couldn’t find one that looked quite like this one.

Falls-1526

a rather shy little salmonberry

Falls-1515

a gurgling creek below Golden Falls, its song drowned out by the nearby roar of the falls

Falls-1510

Golden Falls – there was an additional trail we could have taken to the top, but I wasn’t in shape for an elevation gain of close to 400 ft (120 m).

Falls-1541

Eric spotted this Pileated Woodpecker way off on a distant snag. I couldn’t even see it without the help of the zoom lens. It’s such fun to have old eagle-eye for a guide!

Falls-1544

Pacific Waterleaf – Hydrophyllum tenuipes

Falls-1549

a glimpse of Silver Falls through the trees

Falls-1556

Silver Falls

Falls-1553

couldn’t miss the tiny falls in the bottom right corner

Falls-1546

the Thimbleberries seem to be slowest to ripen

Falls-1574

yet another one I tried to identify without success – a Monkey Flower (thanks for the ID Lynn!!)

Falls-1573

but couldn’t miss with this wild Columbine.

Trees are sanctuaries. Whoever knows how to speak to them, whoever knows how to listen to them, can learn the truth. They do not preach learning and precepts, they preach, undeterred by particulars, the ancient law of life.
― Hermann Hesse, BΓ€ume. Betrachtungen und Gedichte

 

 

23 thoughts on “a walk to the falls

  1. As I think I mentioned, I had Golden and Silver Falls as a Plan B (if there had been overcast days) back in the spring of 2015. I never had occasion to implement Plan B, as it turned out. Thanks for showing me what I missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Back in 2015 a big chunk of the road had fallen off into the creek. You would have had a fairly lengthy hike to get to the falls. We drove out there, but weren’t inspired to go past the warning signs. Nice that we had a chance to see it before the move though. It’s not as spectacular as the other Silver Falls that you went to – only the two falls instead of many, but it’s less visited and the trail is a bit more primitive. Boots on the muddy trail to Golden Falls would have been a must if we’d gone any earlier than we did. Luckily much of the mud had dried by the time of our hike. The trail to Silver Falls did a bit of a climb so it was not as mucky.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the way the photos of forms of smaller life such as the wild flowers are juxtaposed with the shot of the spectacular waterfall. I also like the quotation. The many layers of life in woodlands and forests is so engrossing and rewarding and you capture them so beautifully.

    Like

    • Thank you ever so much for the kind comment and the visit! A lush forest like this one offers so much to see if you stop to look. I suppose the quotation was suggesting that very thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous post, what a pleasure! The waterfalls are so well done – I know that’s not easy. I love the way Silver Falls thins out and just becomes a veil, and the softly rounded top of it is so handsome.

    Good for Eric to spot the Pileated – it seems to me that if they don’t call or make noise hammering away at a hollow tree, you just don’t know they’re around.

    The yellow flower is Monkey flower – you’ll see it in wet places. There are several different Mimulus species but I think it’s probably Mimulus guttatus. I saw it in a muddy place on a very steep riverbank near here a few weeks ago, safely out of reach!

    Like

    • Eric is really great at spotting (& identifying birds). I think I’ll keep him around! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the Monkey Flower ID!!! I agree. I liked Silver Falls better, too! The walk to it was nicer as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great place to hike and explore. Fascinating! Love the first waterfall shot. The flower with the long stamens looks a lot like the flower in my last post, taken in a similar, saturated environment – the Virginia Waterleaf. Might this be a close relative?

    Like

    • It was utterly amazing and refreshing to hike this moist wonderland. Yes indeed! I found it and it’s identified as a Pacific Waterleaf (Hydrophyllum tenuipes) apparently a very close relative. Coincidentally, I discovered a marvelous site for identifying Pacific NW natives and there it was! So much to learn and experiment with restoring natives to the creekside. Should keep me busy for many years to come! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. I thoroughly enjoyed this post, Gunta! The pincushiony flower looks a lot like the Virginia Waterleaf I have growing in my garden. I wonder if that is what it is. The other mystery plant has me stumped~the flower looks a little like touch-me-not while the leaf -stem attachment looks euphorbia ish to me. I’m thrilled that you saw the pileated woodpecker. How cool is that? And your shots of the waterfalls….happy sigh!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked it. Pity I can’t include the smells and the sounds and the feel of the fresh moist air. πŸ˜€

      Not so sure about the Virginia Waterleaf ID. I’m assuming that the plants are all native in this nature preserve and it looks like the Waterleaf territory doesn’t cross the rockies. I’ve just found a wonderful site to help me with my plan to use only native Pacific NW plants at the new house, so I may eventually come across the ones I can’t identify. There is SO MUCH to learn… I’m really starting to get excited about the move as it draws closer.

      Like

      • Yay! I DID find it and you were partially right… it’s Pacific Waterleaf, Hydrophyllum tenuipes, found west of the Cascade Mountains! You are sooooo smart! πŸ˜€

        Like

      • My son and his friends are thinking they will move to Oregon this fall! I’m so excited because he was thinking of northern Wisconsin. Hopefully my daughter and I will be able to follow close behind. πŸ™‚ I see from your comment to someone else that there is a close relative to the V. waterleaf. Makes sense.

        Like

        • We’re a big state with lots of different topography and climates. Has he narrowed down the area he plans to move to? It would be great to have you closer. I think the Oregon coast is as close to heaven as it gets, but there are folks who don’t tolerate our soggy and dreary winters so much.

          Like

    • Thanks, Peggy. My pleasure as always! I’ve been lucky to have seen these great birds several times. My first introduction to one was the amazing sound it makes when it’s pecking away at a dead snag. It sounds somewhat like a jackhammer echoing throughout the woods. It took quite awhile (years) after hearing it to finally SEE one that was working at an old stump in the backyard of my previous home. I never would have known the bird in the above images was there if it hadn’t been for Eric pointing it out to me. He’s a very handy man…. O_o

      Like

Leave a Reply

