infinite shades of green

More Dr Seuss trees…

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1497

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1498

…but with a better look at the understory…

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1493

ferns galore

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1496

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1490

Oregon oxalis

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1524

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1563

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1565

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1566

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1561

What old growth forest looks like…

Golden_and_Silver_Falls-1547

The Douglas fir seems to reach for the sky.

We took a day off on a Sunday (still waiting for the permit before it’s back to work) and hiked the trails to Golden and Silver Falls State Natural Area near Coos Bay, Oregon. The day was perfect for shooting in this lush forest. A bit overcast, but utterly pleasant for an afternoon walk. It did start to rain as we walked back to the pickup. I’ve saved the visuals of the falls for later. This time of year they were simply spectacular.

I identified the plant life I can name, but if someone can remove any bits of ignorance, please do so…. 😀

In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things, does the heart find its morning and is refreshed. 
Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet

 

17 thoughts on “infinite shades of green

  1. What a lovely treat this is – the two shots looking up, at the end, are my favorites, but all together it’s a symphony. You are too kind to credit me (again I think!). The second to last photograph, with all the perfect leaf detail, would be beautiful as a big print.

    Like

    • I’m needing moments like this while life gets hectic. There will, at least be some blueberry picking coming up for a few hours when I can slow down and chill!

      Like

  2. Shades of green is a favorite topic and, even though I’m a trained believer in scientific forestry practices, I could wander around in old growth forests forever! The ferns and tall timber are magnificent. Nicely done Gunta, and thanks for the heads up on this one.

    Like

  3. Ah, such a pleasant walk through the cool Oregon forest, Gunta. The greenery is so rich, love the moss, and dew. And the quote is perfect, for I feel refreshed after visiting here. My thanks to you~~

    Like

    • The walk was very much needed after the dreary prolonged winter we had. After living in Utah for some 14 years, I remember what a thrill it was to be surrounded by these lush greens. My thanks to you for the visit and the lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “In the dew of little things….” Wow….such sweet insight….

    Love the trees and their understories…..I could swear there was a sloth hanging in that second image….

    Like

    • Giggles… could be the sloth was slothful enough to get covered with the moss! Could even be a whole family of them! 😀

      Glad you enjoyed the quote. I rather liked it myself!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Love these! I like the way you refer to the moss covered trees as Dr Seuss trees.That’s so funny! I’ve been thinking recently that I’d like to take a trip to the rain forests here along our coastline. Waiting for some better weather.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed these snaps from our walk in the woods. I took the Dr Seuss designation for the mossy trees from another blogger I follow: https://bluebrightly.com/

      You definitely need to take a trip to a rain forest! There is something so very refreshing just being there. Best not to choose a bright, sunny day though. Bright sun makes for extreme contrast when you’re in a forest. Our hike was on a day that was somewhat overcast, but still provided enough light for hand held shots.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

