Out of the mist

Not entirely sure if this is Cape Arago, though I suspect that it’s actually Cape Blanco. I’m digging out of archives since I decided I’d let posting go for far too long while I’ve been sorting (still) and packing and painting. At least I can get my ‘fix’ of a visit to the coast from archives.

Blanco-8092Someday I’ll get to go back to hiking again. There does seem to be a faint light at the end of this tunnel.

Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like. 
Lao Tzu

16 thoughts on “Out of the mist

    • Thanks! Things seem to be flowing ‘naturally forward’. We just accepted an offer on the house, but it’s contingent on the buyers selling their house in California. That’s a good thing since we need some dry weather to finish stuff up at the ‘new’ house! FINALLY getting to see short stretches of sun so there IS hope… 🙂

      Like

  1. I have this quote typed and taped up, and I find it so reassuring. I am glad to see it is one you treasure too, Gunta. I’m sure it is helping you get through the quagmire that is moving. Lovely photo, too….

    Like

    • Quagmire, indeed. I’m not strong on patience and the weather is holding things up to add to my frustration at our slow progress. The quote truly spoke to this situation as you so wisely imagined. Talking about the places we’ll go once this ordeal is done is what keeps me going during the more frustrating moments as I look out on a dark, dreary and wet day yet again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So, are you reminding yourself of the Lao Tzu quote when you get fed up with all the unpacking? 😉 A friend of mine recently moved from NY to Maine, has a basement full of boxes, and finally gave in and hired someone to help, because with work, it was too much. I am trying to winnow out belongings these days, taking books to the used book store, etc. Too much stuff! Someday before too long, we’ll move, too, and then I’ll be hit with it all! (The mist is so pretty).

    Like

    • I picked that quote specifically as a reminder to myself. Sadly I haven’t reached the unpacking stage yet. None of this gets any easier the older I get. This past week was spent on painting shelves out in the garage for the current house that’s up for sale. I’m just glad we didn’t have any prospective buyers wanting to see the house during that process. You’re lucky in a way that you don’t have to worry about that phase (selling a house) when you do decide to move.

      We just had a couple of days where the sun showed itself every now and then. I’m thinking if the weather ever settles down it’ll help a whole bunch, but the rain and the storms just seem to keep rolling in.

      Like

  3. A lovely image, Gunta (and I love that quote from Lao Tzu).

    If we allow the pressure of meeting up to other’s expectations to control our lives, then we stop living Mindfully and with Peace & Calm. We can get stressed merely from trying to post on our blogs regularly. A break from the usual routine should be in keeping with what naturally arises.

    Like

Leave a Reply

