Oregon green

elkriver-9623

Eric has been working so hard that he is overdue for a break. Yesterday we headed up along the Elk River. It turned out to be the perfect day for some shots of Oregon at its dampest and greenest.

elkriver-9625

I could not resist stopping to catch this lovely greenery pretending to be a waterfall.

elkriver-9627So soothing and refreshing.

elkriver-9629

More to come from this trip as I find the time to sort and post.

Landscape

Isn’t it plain the sheets of moss, except that
they have no tongues, could lecture
all day if they wanted about

spiritual patience? Isn’t it clear
the black oaks along the path are standing
as though they were the most fragile of flowers?

Every morning I walk like this around
the pond, thinking: if the doors of my heart
ever close, I am as good as dead.

Every morning, so far, I’m alive. And now
the crows break off from the rest of the darkness
and burst up into the sky—as though

all night they had thought of what they would like
their lives to be, and imagined
their strong, thick wings. 
― Mary Oliver, Dream Work

23 thoughts on “Oregon green

    • I grew up in Boston, so I’ve been equally amazed. This particular trip along the Elk River took us through a stretch that seems more like what Oregon used to be like before clear-cutting and tree farms.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fantastic photos, Gunta! This Oregonian greenery and lushness remind me of the Hoh Forest on Washington State’s Olympic Peninsula. Really like Mary Oliver’s poem, too. Thanks so much for the blog mention in your right hand column. Have a great weekend~~

    Like

    • Thanks so very much, Jet! I always enjoy your comments and they’re what makes you pop up in the one widget. You also show up whenever I “like” one of your posts (which is quite often!) though lately it’s been a bit of struggle keeping up with everyone. Still waiting for your book to arrive! I just know I’m going to love it because it’s written by you AND it takes place in one of my favorite cities.

      Like

      • Dear Gunta. I, too, have had to curtail some of my blogging in order to get the book out the door. But now that it has–and I am delighted that you await its arrival–I can get back to more blogging. yippee! My thanks to you, and happy reading when it arrives~~

        Like

Leave a Reply

