a place I’ve often dreamed of

Falling more and more in love with our little spot on the creek…creek_house-8877

Another neighbor stopped to say howdy!

creek_house-1298

After the storm, the creek is up enough to launch the kayak… I suspect Eric really needed the break after all the work he’s been doing.

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.Β 
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

35 thoughts on “a place I’ve often dreamed of

    • I’m more than happy to share. It’s been such a joy working on our little slice of heaven. It’s been taking a long time since we’re doing 99% of all the remodel ourselves. (Mostly Eric I must admit!) And we do take time off to enjoy it as well.

      The Emerson quote is one I first came across back in the early 70s, when I was living in San Francisco. It’s been a sort of guiding light ever since. I was pleased to be reminded of it once again!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh, Nina! It’s been a great deal of fun working on this place and well worth the effort. New windows go in next if we could hit a day when it isn’t raining. It seems a bit unusual to have so much steady rain this early. I suspect it’s going to be a long, wet winter this year. But it’s giving us an excuse to goof off a bit and just enjoy.

      Like

    • I first encountered Mr E’s words somewhere back in the 70s and have made an attempt to live by them ever since. I suppose it might have been what landed me in this bit of paradise?

      Like

      • It is wonderful, isn’t it, how an inspiring writer can start us on a wonderful path? I was just reflecting this morning that a novel I read about a woman in search of herself actually was the map that led me to my studio/gallery. I love your story, Gunta. You give me the hope I need πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. That scene in the 2nd image shows what a wonderful place you and Eric live in. Very peaceful and calming for the soul.
    Love the quote too.

    Like

    • Would you believe we’re STILL working on the house. The rains have interrupted plans to finally put the new windows in and we wanted to get the clearing finished before the rains came. At least we managed most of that… it’s all a wonderful work in progress, but we haven’t actually moved in down there yet. It’s more like a working vacation when we do! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

