more of the neighbors

I sat on these images for over a month because they weren’t as good as I might have hoped, but I can’t resist sharing these cute little fluff balls even if the pictures might have been better.

Callipepla californica
The valley quail is a native species originally confined to the counties bordering California and Nevada. They were transplanted to other areas of the state so long ago (beginning as early as 1870) that most Oregonians do not realize they were introduced in most of Oregon.

quail-1045

Mom (below) and dad (above) guarding their brood. There were far too many, moving way too fast to count. That’s one of the little chicks between the two adults.

quail-1052

These were taken near the end of August. By now they’re all mostly adult size. They peck away at the dirt and grass and never stand still for a moment.

quail-8941

A closer look.

quail-8949

I’m not sure if those on the left were siblings from an earlier batch, or cousins?

quail-8943

This little guy was right there amidst the quail contingent. I suspect I’ll have to do some serious thinking about what to plant and where. Maybe that’s where the easter eggs come from? Happy hump day!

There are two kinds of teachers: the kind that fill you with so much quail shot that you can’t move, and the kind that just gives you a little prod behind and you jump to the skies.
โ€• Robert Frost

 

32 thoughts on “more of the neighbors

  1. Oh how very fortunate that you were able to capture some photos of the little ones. They’re so shy and so fast it is really hard to snap them. Really fun to see them, Gunta, thank you.

    Like

    • We were fortunate indeed! There must have been three different batches, with the tiny ones ever too cute and fast. It never ceases to amaze me how fast they move. My pleasure to share indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Gunta! I hope you are well. I love quail but never seem to notice them on my walks until they fly off! Sometimes I’ve been only a metre away and not noticed them. They are cute little birds – the chicks and the adults. I also had to smile at the Frost quote. One for teachers and parents to think about that’s for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • The quail are cute and fun, but true that the bunnies can be pretty destructive. I kind of feel bad if your bunnies have nothing but a lawn to nibble on. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  3. Aww! How adorable and the images look pretty crisp on my small screen too ๐Ÿ™‚ If I’m not mistaken the quail are endangered in CA, so it is fortunate that so many were relocated. Love the bunny too. We had quite a few of them this summer but they didn’t do any harm, to my amazement. They must have found enough to eat without devastating any of my treasures. Didn’t matter~they are so cute all I could do was grin as I watched them.

    Like

    • Seems like I’m being told to quit using my big screen iMac! As for the quail, I think this variety is doing just fine. I suspect you’re thinking of another sort. I know that grin that comes from watching bunnies!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. They’re all so cute, Gunta.
    I can’t resist photographing newly born chicks or ducklings either.

    Talking of siblings or cousins……. I photographed some 10(?) tiny Australian Wood Ducks one year and went back the next day to see another 4 (with only the one set of parents). I wondered if they had 2 broods very close together OR maybe the parents of the extra 4 abandoned them?

    Like

    • I see no reason to resist! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I often wish for some expert to be handy to explain these mysteries to me!
      Thanks for the visit and the comment. It’s the things I miss when I’m too busy to pay attention to the blogging these days.

      Like

  5. I agree with Animalcouriers et al; and the heartwarming images count most, all your work is beautiful. We have a lot of quail locally and they are profuse and entertaining to see. At my previous home by the meadow, there was always a grownup on a higher perch, the lookout in constant unrelenting chatter (not there, go left; pull up your socks; blow your nose on the leaf; don’t eat your sister’s grain; look out for the bear, etc) and the absolute drop dead by the millisecond response of the kidlettes to every instruct.
    Love the rab, too, planting Easter eggs; and the endearing Frost quote. Hurrah for the woods.

    Like

    • I can never get enough of seeing those busy, speedy little chicks racing around with their parents. I remember at my previous house, the lookout (most often the male) would perch up on the bird feeder, keeping a close eye out for any danger. It’s so delicious being back to a wilder place again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

