the eaglets have fledged

aerie-8757We stopped by the aerie, as has been our habit lately, to check on the eaglets. I wish the nest had been built in a better location. Without their eventual white heads, it’s hard to spot the youngsters up in the nest- even with the 300 mm lens. They tend to blend into the messy nest and branches around them. A good thing perhaps to keep them safe, not so great for photo ops. This first shot was taken around 6 pm as we headed into town.aerie-8759An hour later, we stopped again and found the adult in the nest and the two young ones on adjacent branches. Proof positive that they have fledged (taken flight) and that our pair successfully raised two.aerie-8765A closer look at the adult apparently having dinner.aerie-8770

I’m guessing this is the dominant one. I can tell by that ‘stink eye’ as seen during the earlier feeding sequence.aerie-8771

The other one also working on some stink eye. It took awhile to figure out what that white patch was. It looks like the wind was blowing the feathers around on the side of his/her head, revealing the white fluff underneath.

You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this. 
Henry David Thoreau

28 thoughts on “the eaglets have fledged

  1. What a superb thing it is to have more solid bald eagles cruising this earth..Wow ~ the magnificent way of the falcon dependably awes me, and I consider part it is on the grounds that I’ve recently never seen numerous in my life, and those I have seen are so far away.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful thing it is to have more strong bald eagles cruising this earth. It wasn’t that long ago when the species was nearly extinct. Per Wikipedia: in the 1950s there were only 412 nesting pairs in the contiguous U.S. Great photos and series, Gunta…and great news.

    Like

    • I seem to be finding more and more bald eagles here, there and lots of places. What a great comeback they’ve made. I considered myself blessed to have found this nest several years ago. Thank you for the visit and the kind comments. You’re the best!

      Like

  3. Wow ~ the regal nature of the eagle always impresses me, and I think part of it is because I’ve just never seen many in my life, and those I have seen are so far away. This makes this series you have here even more glamorous for me 🙂 Being able to see them in their absolute pure form (nesting and living life) makes it even more special. Beautiful work Gunta ~

    Like

    • Thank you! They are so much fun to watch as they raise their young ones. I can’t help but wish I could get a better look, but they’re pretty well protected in that nest across the river and way up high. That’s the most important thing.

      Like

  4. Even though you were dissatisfied with the clarity, I think you’ve done really well. And so have they. I wonder if they will nest there again next year?

    Like

    • Given that this was their 3rd year at that nest (that I know of), I’d venture a guess that they’ll be there again next year. Interesting that the two previous years I observed them, they only had a single chick. This was the first year they had two.

      Liked by 1 person

    • They are pretty amazing. Wish they would get their white heads sooner than the reputed 3 years, so I could tell if I spotted them once they left the nest.

      Like

  5. Nice update on the eagles, it’s good to see that both of the eaglets have made it this far.

    I know where there are several eagle nests, and they all share one thing in common, they were built in gnarly pines in places that make it hard to see the nests, even as large as they are.

    Like

    • It’s been a real treat to catch these amazing birds raising their young. I get a bit frustrated at not getting better shots of them, but I should be satisfied that I get to see and watch them at all!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

