changing coastline

This sort of change along the ocean’s edge never ceases to amaze and thrill me.

Curry-6458

I seem to be driving along this road quite often these days, but it’s never dull or boring. It’s never the same from day to day.

Curry-6461

I have no idea why, but there are times when the water takes on such different colors. It’s breathtaking.

There’s something amazing about this life. The very same worldly attribute that causes us pain is also what gives us relief: Nothing here lasts. What does that mean? It means that the breathtakingly beautiful rose in my vase will wither tomorrow. It means that my youth will neglect me. But it also means that the sadness I feel today will change tomorrow. My pain will die. My laughter won’t last forever but neither will my tears. We say this life isn’t perfect. And it isn’t. It isn’t perfectly good. But, it also isn’t perfectly bad, either. 
Yasmin Mogahed

32 thoughts on “changing coastline

  1. Enjoying your beautiful photographs as I need to find some peace today, my friend. This quote in particular really touched me. I’m amazed at the beautiful quotes you always find to accompany the lovely scenes you capture with your camera. Thank you for sharing your gifts with the world. Love you.

    Like

    • Hi Cheryl. Hope you found the peace you were looking for. I just tried to email you, but found your email address seems to have gone missing. We’ve been so incredibly busy that I’m not keeping up with blogging and other stuff very much these days. But it’s all fun! Love you, too!

      Like

  2. For me there is not a more tranquil and exciting scene (even with a storm in full force) than a coastline and the ocean. Oregon Coast may be one of the greatest I’ve ever witnessed, could never be bored there. Originally coming from the high desert of Pendleton in Eastern Oregon, the coast is a wonder for me 🙂

    Like

    • The coast is truly amazing. I’ve yearned to live closer to it forever. Someday soon we’ll move to the new/old house which we’re shaping into our wishes. Being roughly 2-3 miles inland avoids the corrosion of the fog and wind and the creek on the property is a bonus.

      Like

  3. Your site is always an enjoyable little stop, Gunta! I will make it over to the shore eventually.

    On another note, it looks like Rick and I will get to see Crater Lake later this summer. So many places to see here in Oregon.

    Like

  4. Ah, such a delightful post Gunta. Your photos here are exquisite and so serene. And I really like the quote a lot, and its perfect match to your photo art. Thank you.

    Like

    • My pleasure dear Jet. I always enjoy your comments. Sometimes I just fall behind in replying. It seems the renovation project is reaching a sort of crescendo with the bathroom finally coming together.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous. I adore the changing colours of water – not just at the coast but anywhere. I believe the colour changes in the sea and oceans are to do with clouds and refraction but I don’t understand the science of it!

    Like

    • Mother Nature is such an artist. I’ve been looking out at some gorgeous light just now where it peeks out from under a cloud bank. It creates a lighting that is so hard to capture with the camera, but one I love even more than sunsets or sunrises. I don’t understand the science either, but I love the effect it creates.

      Like

    • I’m loving this opportunity to drive along this marvelous stretch of the ocean and to enjoy all of its fascinating moods. It’ll get even better in about another month when the traffic thins out and the nasty north wind switches direction and gives us some milder days between the exhilarating storms that come along in the winter. My timing seems to be off to catch the lovely clouds during these days.

      Like

    • It is serene. Luckily this southern section of the Oregon coast isn’t (yet) as developed as the more northern sections. Have to say that quote really touched me. It’s odd how I stumble across quotes that fit with whatever it is I seem to need at any given time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

