…and then there were two

I’ve followed this Bald Eagles’ nest since I first discovered it in 2013. bald_eagle-8324

So far, I’ve only seen them produce a single eaglet.

bald_eagle-8326

I’ve never quite figured out what this pose means. Almost as though he’s singing.

bald_eagle-8334

But then he heads for the nest.

bald_eagle-8335-2

and here’s a closeup (very heavily cropped) of the nest… with two little ones anxiously waiting for the parent to arrive. They’re pretty hard to see with all the brush interfering, but there are two little heads (brown, not white) just left of center, watching mom (or dad?) arrive.

bald_eagle-8336

This series was fun with several shots in succession as the adult headed for the nest, the tail backlit by the sun. Pity I don’t have a better lens, or better lighting, a better background, not to mention better talent to catch these marvelous moments.

bald_eagle-8337

Almost there. It looks like they already have beaks open in anticipation.

bald_eagle-8360

My favorite shot of the series with the parent feeding the eaglet on the right while the one to the left looks on.

Like a young eaglet that gets pushed out of the nest at the appropriate time, a young man must learn to fly on his own. If the nest is too cushy, if all of his creature comforts are there for his enjoyment, then he may set up his high-definition television and perch for a while.
Dennis Rainey, Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood

40 thoughts on “…and then there were two

  1. Oh, that’s brilliant, Gunta. Fabulous that you’ve kept track of this nest for so long. And don’t worry, the photos are fine.

    The head pointing up might be a display pose – telling other birds (not necessarily his own kind) that it’s his tree and to beware, Or he might be letting out a sound higher than the human ear can perceive, to tell his offspring where he is.

    Watching smaller birds, I have often noticed that they seem to be echo-locating with terribly high-pitched whistles. Soon after they either reunite with their babies, or they find food that was previously out of their sight.

    Like

    • Thanks, Val. I’m quite happy to have caught these, but still wish I could have had something that showed the little ones better. It’s not easy since the nest is quite a distance from the road where I stop to view them. There’s a fairly wide river between me and them and the brushy background doesn’t help.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a joy it is to see the nest, with nestlings, of a bald eagle, Gunta. How fortunate for you to have located it, and lucky for us that you share it. Considering this magnificent bird was nearly extirpated, it’s truly remarkable.

    Like

    • As someone commented earlier, it’s a shame they don’t build their nest in a better spot for photos, but I’m beyond thrilled to catch these glimpses. Eric tells me there’s an Osprey that hangs out on a tree next to the house down south. We’re thinking about the best spot to build a nest platform… great things to look forward to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I felt your angst in your last blog over better equipment and such, but it seems that work on the house has taken precedence for me these days. I’ve hardly managed to get to the beach lately, but I did know I had to check on the eagle family. It seems I timed it just right. Always good to hear from you.

      BTW, I’m still using the same lenses you recommended way back when…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

