postcards from sin city

I seem to have an allergy to big cities, but I soldiered through a night in Las Vegas in order to catch a glimpse of the real Cirque du Soleil. Sorry, no cameras allowed (wish I’d taken the little point ‘n shoot with me on this trip…) But here’s a trailer of the show we saw. (Watch it, it’s really fun and not nearly long enough.)Β There is no way to describe it.

SinCity-6545

The view from our room for the night. This is absolutely one time when the images had to reflect my surreal reaction to this crazy city.

SinCity-6546

Keep in mind that I’m shooting through glass and the weird tube on the reflecting building is a light fixture inside our room.

SinCity-6547

The next morning while waiting to grab our rented Jeep and escape to the desert…

SinCity-6549

Can’t think of an adequate comment to this one. It just is.

SinCity-6553

The only real “wild life” we saw.

Some tourists think Amsterdam is a city of sin, but in truth it is a city of freedom. And in freedom, most people find sin.
― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

27 thoughts on “postcards from sin city

  1. I’m glad you took the time to process these in exactly this way – they really look great. Just perfect. I don’t know if you can really call an English Sparrow an invasive species any more – it’s been invading for centuries now, I think! It’s a fixture in most any big city in the U.S. I read that they did very well in NYC because of horse manure on the streets… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • The processing was really fun and how else to present what to me was such a bizarre scene. Who actually thinks to plunk a water guzzling urban mess in the middle of a desert anyway? What could they have been thinking? As for the sparrow… well, I just go by what my bird expert partner tells me! πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Thanks, Sylvia. I was just having some fun out there on that patio away from the mobs while waiting for the shuttle to take us to where we picked up the Jeep. Eric kept telling me the bird was an invasive species. I didn’t care. He was kind of cute.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I live so close to Las Vegas, but it’s not a place that ever held an attraction for me. Perhaps because I grew up in a desert city? Or more likely, I have no interest in gambling. I was there once for a software developer conference. My pals had to teach me how to play cards so I wouldn’t sit alone in the room in the evenings!

    Like

    • We certainly had to go out of our way to go to Las Vegas. Also a city that’s never held any attraction for me, likely for the same reason. I find gambling to be totally boring. Having said that, seeing Cirque du Soleil in its home setting was the only point of going to LV and we didn’t spend much time there, so it was good.

      Like

  3. I also have an aversion to large cities, especially tourist traps, and there’s none worse than Vegas. However, I do enjoy a live show, and that one looks like one that I’d love, so I suppose that if some one twisted my arm hard enough, I could spend a night there for the show.

    Like

    • It actually wasn’t that bad. We flew in relatively late, caught the late show at 9 pm. Then got up the next day to pick up the rented Jeep and headed for the desert. Having said that, it certainly is a freak show for the most part.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE that upshot, Gunta, awesome!! I enjoyed the trailer, maybe hubby and I can catch the show when we’re out that way this summer. Can’t wait to see the desert. Taking a jeep must have been fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Summer in the desert? What are you thinking, girl? Then again, I don’t do heat well. If you DO Cirque in Vegas, I would definitely advise picking KA. It was truly amazing. Far more thrilling and artistic than the other two Cirque shows I’d seen. Bet you’re going to love our two visits to the Bosque del Apache… that’s just a teaser for you! O_o

      Like

      • Well, it’ll be a quick visit around Las Vegas before we meander more north to get away from the high temps and heat, get to higher elevations! Not sure what we’re thinking, lol. We just want to wander! πŸ™‚ I’ll note the KA as the best and can’t wait to see your photos to Bosque del Apache! You are teasing me!

        Like

  5. Heading to LV for an annual professional conference next month. It is NOT one of my favorite destinations. If, however, I am able to take in a Cirque performance, all will not be lost. πŸ™‚ Glad to learn you’ve been able to experience a few of them!

    Like

    • If I might suggest KA out of all the available Cirque shows. I believe it’s the most spectacular and marvelous in every way. I might advise bringing earplugs though. There are kettle drums and the noise level could be pretty intense at times.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I had seen two of their traveling shows here in Oregon. They were set up in the University basketball stadium. It was truly amazing, but only made me long to see it in one of their shows with all the trimmings. I was in a happy haze coming out of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Gunta! I’m so glad to see your trip to LV went well and that your desert adventure proceeds. I enjoyed your wry comments about Sin City, unusual photos to accompany it, and the wildlife you found. You sound like me in a city, I scour parking lots and concrete and am happy to find my friends the house sparrows. I really enjoyed the trailer too, of this phenomenal troupe. Hoping you’re having a wonderful time!

    Like

    • Hi Jet! The trip went beyond well. Even the flying wasn’t quite as horrid as anticipated and Cirque more than made up for any inconvenience. You threw me for a moment because ‘LV’ is commonly the abbreviation for Latvia (where I was born). But, of course, it was for Sin City. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    • I had seen two of their earlier shows in Eugene. KA is definitely unique and I can’t imagine how it could travel to other cities because it needs a theater that’s built for all the technical stuff. As for Vegas being a place apart… it’s simply insane all that bizarre consumption smack dab in the middle of a desert. I can’t avoid imagining some archeologist in the future trying to make heads or tails of it all. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • I got to see several Cirque shows here in SoCal. Wonderful artistry & athleticism. I also got to see the Moscow Circus somewhere, in some city or other. THAT was the best actual circus show I ever saw (and I don’t even like circuses).

        Like

Leave a Reply

