more excuses

Far too many things crowding out blogging for me lately. I haven’t tracked how often I’ve been posting, though I’ve tried very hard to keep up with replies to comments. I also suspect that my comments at other much loved blogs have slipped a bit lately. We’ve spent some time down south working on the new house and there’s no internet down there. Then taxes are going to be utterly crazy this year with a bunch of real estate stuff and more to complicate matters. I’ll just apologize here and now for not keeping up… there are still a number of posts I’ve saved for that rainy day (though come to think of it, we’ve had a great many rainy days lately… perhaps I should make that a sunny day???)

Cape_Sebastian-6111

This is what it looked like Saturday at Cape Sebastian between downpours. The fog was rolling in. Trust me, this is not a black & white shot…. it just looks that way.

Cape_Sebastian-6112Looking north at Cape Sebastian there was a bit less fog, thus a hint of color…

In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.Β 
― Robert Frost

40 thoughts on “more excuses

    • Thank you, Chilli. We’ve had some dreary days here lately. Then life comes along and gets in the way of photography when the light turns to stunning! Just to show how frazzled I’ve been, I jumped in the car to catch an impressive sunset developing and… forgot to pack the camera! 😦

      Like

  1. Please don’t apologise. I know what it’s like when life gets busy. I felt very guilty when I needed to take a break away from my WordPress Reader. I felt overwhelmed by everything I thought I had to catch up on. But the truth is that nice people will understand and not mind. Take whatever time you need to get things done. πŸ™‚ I loved the rough water picture at the top. It brought back memories for me of seaside living. I loved the rough weather as well as the calm. Frost’s words are simple but true..it does go on. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I probably should quit with the apologies, but once upon a time I used to post almost daily. It’s actually hard to break that habit, so I suppose it’s why I feel the need to apologize. Now that I think about it, it’s rather presumptuous to think that anyone might feel put out if I don’t post. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • I always tell people not to apologise but I do it all the time. πŸ˜‰ It’s not presumptious. We miss you but understand that people have lives outside of blogging. Well, I do anyway! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sylvia. I never thought I’d be saying this, but I am finally getting a wee bit tired of this nonstop dreary weather we’ve been having. But all is not lost, Feb usually brings better weather if this El Nino doesn’t screw things up.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Perhaps not for the wimpy set, but I happen to love Oregon winters. πŸ˜‰ I could easily do without the summers to be honest. Oddly enough the temperature when I took the above shots was roughly 55ΒΊ. It generally only gets cold when the clouds retreat and the sun comes out. This was strictly a grab and run shot in a bit of a torrential downpour since I’ve been far too caught up in renovation and other such delights!

      Like

      • Just looked at your snowfall pics and that white stuff is something I can totally do without. The romance and adventure of roaming around in a tin can seems to suddenly wear thin for me at 3 weeks. Then the urge to return to my PNW weather returns, not to be ignored. To each unto his own I say….

        Like

    • Thank you so much! How to explain the move? Currently we are about a half hour east of the beach or roughly 20 mi (32 km) inland. But from there we travel down the coast another 60 mi (roughly 97 km) to the new location and we’re maybe 5 minutes from the beach. That end of the state is rumored to have slightly warmer weather, but it’s certainly not something I’m looking for. Then again it will still have the winter storms (which I love) as pictured above. The shoreline you see in the above shot is quite close to where we’ll eventually move.

      Like

  2. Well Gunta, it’s very nice to see these photos. I especially like the top one. You gotta do what you gotta do. You’ll be back, and we’ll all be here.

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed the photos. They were the only ones I’ve taken lately with all the other stuff going on. Worse yet, I missed a super spectacular sunset one night because I didn’t have the camera with me. sigh…

      Like

    • What a very nice thing to say! At this moment I’m doing a great job at procrastinating to start working on the taxes. Not something to look forward to, but it does have me doing a bit of catching up with blogs. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • It’s very nice to be missed, but I seem to be in one of those busy patches that come along now and then. You haven’t missed much in the many moods lately since it’s mostly been the fog and rain and the overcast skies you see above. I’m hoping life settles down just a wee bit and that we start getting more interesting skies soon. In the meantime, there are just so many hours in the day. I need more! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. The moments in life we spend with the people who travel with us through all of the ups and downs, the people who are so quick to point out the little patch of sunshine when the world seems overwhelming and so totally overcast, the select few who can always find that one thing that makes us laugh, those moments are the special things; everything else in life, well those are the small things you shouldn’t sweat…Enjoyed your photos.

    Like

  4. What an interesting effect with that first image. It almost does look like B & W.
    Does no internet down south mean that you won’t be blogging, Gunta? Hope you don’t stop as I’ve been enjoying your seascapes very much over the last year or so.

    Like

    • I imagine we’ll have internet once we move south, but it may take a long time since we have a LOT of work to do on the house. Given the extensive renovation, I don’t want to actually live down there until it’s close to finished. We just go down for a few days and do some work, then return home to recuperate! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

