sticking around for the winter

We seem to have two species of hummingbirds around here. The Anna’s stick around all year. This time of year, the little darlings don’t have a huge variety of flowers blooming, so I provide feeders to help them through the winter months. This little sweetie has taken to perching in the apple or fig tree guarding over the feeder and buzzing any intruders.

hummer-5866

It’s about 45º F (7º C) and the tiny dear is fluffed up while trying to warm up in the sun.

Come spring we’ll get a huge influx of Rufous hummingbirds. They’re a bit more colorful and feisty enough to drive the poor Anna’s away from the feeders. They only stick around for a short time before moving to greener pastures I suppose. I did a post mostly featuring the Rufous at the very beginning of June HERE and HERE.

more Pooh wisdom:

But it isn’t easy,’ said Pooh. ‘Because Poetry and Hums aren’t things which you get, they’re things which get you. And all you can do is to go where they can find you. 
A.A. Milne, The House at Pooh Corner

33 thoughts on “sticking around for the winter

  1. Cute! Not an easy shot to get, nice work. Our hummer feeder doesn’t work – I haven’ t figured out what’s wrong. A hummer comes and hovers there for a millisecond, then leaves. Something wrong with the way the food smells, or maybe it’s clogged. Another thing one never gets around to fixing! 😉

    Like

    • Some things you might try… apparently you have at least one bird that’s discovered your feeder. The next thing is to check the nectar (1:4 ratio sugar to water). It will ferment if left up too long. Dump it and clean the feeder if it gets the least bit cloudy. I generally boil the nectar to help dissolve the sugar. I don’t know if that’s essential, but it’s what I do. Might I suggest my favorite feeders: https://tinyurl.com/q2vsjha I love that the bottle is glass and comes in 8 oz. or 32 oz and is super easy to clean. The base comes apart for easy access. This time of year, I use the 8 oz since there aren’t as many customers. During the spring influx of migrant Rufous types, I go to the 32 oz size. Back at the old house, I had 4 feeders, one hanging at each side of the house. During the major migration, I’d have to fill the four 32 oz bottles daily. There were times I had a bird at all 8 holes, with more hovering around to get in. It takes some effort to keep up with them, but well worth the effort. Hope this helps?

      Like

  2. Oh what a delightful hummingbird party I’ve had, with this post and your two previous rufous posts. This winter one looks like it might be a juvenile male Anna’s. And you did a good job here of capturing his fierceness, Gunta. For such a tiny creature, they are incredibly fierce; and for such an aggressive bird, they sure are beautiful. Thanks so much for the terrific photos. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so very happy you enjoyed this feast of hummer images. They are so captivating and fun to ‘shoot’. The influx of Rufous we get in the spring is even more fun to watch because I think they are far more fierce and territorial. The crazy antics are a joy to watch.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yesterday I was in town in a residential neighborhood and I saw an Anna’s go to a red bauble on a Christmas wreath hanging from someone’s front door. Definitely so fun to watch! Great photos Gunta~~ 😀

        Like

  3. Lovely post (and quote).

    I wish we had Hummingbirds here as they look amazing. The speed at which they flap their wings must make it hard to photograph them unless they are sitting still.

    Like

    • I’m so happy you enjoyed my little hummers. If you click on the first link I entered, you can see the shots I took last summer. I caught quite a few in flight. In some you can see the wings, in other cases the wings are a blur.

      Liked by 1 person

    • He (she?) is a lovely, darling little companion. I know of two neighbors who used to feed them that have moved on. I just had to pick up the slack for these sweet little creatures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

