let there be rain

The drought has finally lifted with gushers coming from the skies. Thank you El Niño!

A shot of our local park during the recent floods. Not to worry, most of us are above these flood plains where the river likes to spread out. It sure changes the landscape though. We have places called Winter Lakes out here.

floods-0063

Didn’t have the DSLR with me, but the point ‘n shoot didn’t do too badly?floods-0056

And really, it wasn’t much good having anything exciting like floods, if you couldn’t share them with somebody.
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

37 thoughts on “let there be rain

    • True, the flooding where it’s expected isn’t a big deal and very nice for migrating birds. What’s more worrisome are the mudslides that wash houses down some of our steeper terrain. There’s sure been a lot of rain after several years of drought.

      Like

    • Picture me hollering for Eric to stop so I could jump out to snap that tree reflection. Winnie is always full of words of wisdom. I have a favorite t-shirt with a quote (Bother free is the way to be) and drawing of Winnie. I’ve had it for many, many years. It’s super soft from hundreds of washings and survives as a nightshirt. It will be a sad day when it finally gives up the ghost!

      Liked by 1 person

    • The entire US of A is in an El Niño pattern where the East Coast is experiencing unusual warmth for this time of year. I think NYC was bragging of temps in the 60s, as was Chicago. The rains seem to be coming down in deluges here on the west coast, but it’s said that we’d need several years of this to make up for the severe drought we’ve had (to fill reservoirs). The type of moisture makes a huge difference, too. Mostly what’s needed is lots of snow in the mountains to see us through the summer months. Last February we traveled up the Eastern side of the Sierras and there was practically no snow on the mountains. Even Mt Whitney (the highest peak in the lower 48) had hardly any snow on the peak.

      But you got the bit about the sight of water being glorious! I’m lovin’ it!!!

      Like

    • So far quite safe, though a wee touch damp at times! Today was fun to have the sun come out and chase around to see the flooding. Our flooding is actually normal, part of a cycle that I’ve explained in previous comments. North of us in Portland, it’s doing quite a bit of damage, but not where I live.

      Like

  1. Wow, Gunta, incredible photos! I saw a photo in the New York Times something like this and wondered if you were near it. Turns out you were very near, and I’m glad you are not in danger. Enjoyed the Winnie-the-Pooh quote too. 😀

    Like

    • This is actually nothing unusual. It’s happened just about every one of the 21+ winters I’ve been here. It’s actually pretty cool to have wide spread lakes surrounding us for at least several months out of the year. During the dry months, the cows are put out to pasture where the lakes are. Fortunately there aren’t many houses built out where it floods, so it’s not such a big deal.

      Liked by 1 person

    • WordPress is messing with me again. It looks like they dropped you off my list of blogs that notify me by email when you post. I wondered why I hadn’t heard of your postings lately. I can only find a “Follow” button down at the bottom of your page, but that only puts you in my “Reader”. Something I never visit. Any hints?

      Like

Leave a Reply

