a gold beach sunset

A perfect day… warm, without any wind to speak of, with a colorful sunset. Couldn’t ask for any more.

gold_beach-5660

A bit of follow up on the beached whale- we drove by it today and it looks like they’re chopping up the pieces and burning them. A bystander said that the Hatfield Marine Science Center will likely take the skeleton to display at its research and educational institution in Newport, Oregon. We may even get to discover what the cause of death might have been. I can’t say I envy the folks who were down on the beach chopping up that gigantic, stinking carcass.

gold_beach-5691

To me, homesteading is the solution of all poverty’s problems, but I realize that temperament has much to do with success in any undertaking, and persons afraid of coyotes and work and loneliness had better let ranching alone. At the same time, any woman who can stand her own company, can see the beauty of the sunset, loves growing things, and is willing to put in as much time at careful labor as she does over the washtub, will certainly succeed; will have independence, plenty to eat all the time, and a home of her own in the end. 
Elinore Pruitt Stewart, Letters of a Woman Homesteader

40 thoughts on “a gold beach sunset

  1. Charming pictures and quote! Afraid I’m reminded of the time (in the 70’s) it was decided to dynamite a beached whale and assume critters would consume the small remaining pieces – there’s footage out there of how this plan didn’t go so well…

    Like

        • Looks like the crew from Newport may have learned the lesson. I didn’t make the effort to climb down to the beach, but there was heavy equipment and a very smoky fire going. On the way home from Gold Beach, we ran into some of the crew cleaning up at the rest stop in Ophir… well after dark!

          Liked by 1 person

        • I suppose that I was one of those lucky souls who stumbled along until I landed in a place I consider to be perfect. I just had this vague notion of where I wanted to go and somehow kept drifting in the right direction. Of course, being older and retired may have helped a bunch. 😉

          Like

    • Thanks, Mark. We thought of including a swing over to your gorgeous box canyon, but after the altitude sickness episode I chickened out. I’m not in a hurry for a replay.

      Like

  2. Beautiful quote and pics. Thanks for the update on the whale too. Having had to deal with a few large bloated carcasses on the farm, I don’t envy the people cutting up the whale either!

    Like

    • I would have liked to see the skeleton left on the beach, but I suspect it may add to the knowledge at the marine institute, not to mention what vandals were likely to do to it if left out there on that rather isolated beach.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Heck, I didn’t even want to take the walk down to the beach for a closer look. There was heavy equipment involved so they must have been combining burning and/or burying. What a job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

