The SW trip – day 5

This day was way short on photography. Mostly because I was still feeling a bit queasy from the altitude sickness. I was pretty much spaced out as we headed East across Utah on Hwy 21. I remember watching some pretty scenery go by, but didn’t feel much like stopping for photo shoots.Day5-5254

I did manage this shot of Wheeler Peak (13,063’/3982m) as we started down the mountain that morning and one more shot of those fantastic aspens…

Day5-5257

Approaching Bryce Canyon clear to Escalante there was too much traffic for very many stops.

Day5-5259

I missed most of the red rock scenery on this section. We had a hard time finding a place to stop for the night. I had been hoping for a shower and a real bed… but all the inns were full. Hard to believe the mobs of tourists. Even huge busloads full of them. We eventually found a campground in Escalante that had really nice showers, but slept in the van that night.

Day5-5530

Just the other day, Eric presented me with these Aspen leaves. He had picked some of the brighter colored ones for me to make up for feeling so sick while we were at Great Basin. Sadly the leaves lost their color on the trip home, but the gesture more than made up for it.

Happiness is a gift and the trick is not to expect it, but to delight in it when it comes. 
Charles Dickens, Nicholas Nickleby

29 thoughts on “The SW trip – day 5

  1. Beautiful photos again, and how I long to return to the Capitol Reef – Escalante area. It’s lousy to feel bad when you’re traveling, isn’t it? We had bookend bad days – mine at the beginning, Joe’s at the end. But the in between was great, and that’s what I’ll remember. I love all the subtle colors in the third photo.

    Like

    • Traveling in the van while feeling sick has its pros and cons. It was handy being able to lie down in back whenever needed, but it’s also hard to get to sleep in it at times. I do love the adventures we have in it though, being able to camp in out of the way spots. We had originally planned to loop around to visit de Chelly (loved your post on it!) but we cut the trip a bit short because the altitude effects lingered for several days. Milder, but still slowing me down some.

      Like

    • Nevada and Utah (or that entire four corners region which also includes AZ and NV) is pretty amazing! I was pretty lucky to live close enough to explore much of that area for roughly 14 years. Nicholas is so very right. We merely need the ability to appreciate it.

      Like

  2. That third shot is just wonderful, Gunta…I love the clouds and the distant dome of rock…very nice. Several years ago, when my wife and kids were living in SLC before we all moved up there, they sent me a Ziplock bag full of Fall leaves…it was a fantastic surprise and full of the aroma of Fall when I opened it.

    Like

  3. The shots you were able to take were fantastic, Gunta. What a lovely thing for Eric to do. Many years ago someone who cared about me brought me a single large perfect gum tree leaf from his walk. It’s funny how these simple gestures can mean so much more than an expensive material present. I still have that leaf, dried up and brown now of course. Beautiful quote as well. 🙂

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree more about such perfect thoughtful gestures being extra special. The more expensive material presents are generally things I don’t care for… or like to pick out for myself. It truly makes the phrase “it’s the thought that counts” so meaningful! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

