The South West trip -day 2

Day Two…. the night of the SuperMoon Lunar eclipse.

Day2-5060

This morning E was rather excited to see these Ibis (plural Ibises, or webis?) First there was this rather poor shot from a great distance.

Day2-5062

This one of the single guy came out a tiny bit better.

Day2-5067

Showing the swampy part of Upper Klamath Lake where the Ibis were hiding out. Can you find them? Perhaps it gives some sense of how much zoom and crop was needed to see these rather elusive critters.

Day2-5087

From Klamath we headed east across the high desert terrain of eastern Oregon. Once off the highway, entering Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge, this shot tends to encapsulate the dusty, dry conditions of the gravel roads we traveled. (cough, cough)

Day2-5093

Pretty much the only wildlife we encountered that day at Sheldon other than what I call the kamikaze rabbits – actually hares according to National Geographic. I call them that for their tendency of hovering at the edge of the road and darting out in front of the car. E thinks they’re engaging in a game of chicken to see who can come closest without being hit. I just think they’re kind of nuts.

Day2-5100

At this point we were still searching for a spot to get a good shot of the Big Lunar Eclipse… until I discovered I hadn’t packed the tripod. (sigh) Given that we hadn’t found a campsite and the clouds were obscuring the moon, we gave it up and looked for a place to settle.

Day2-5101

I gave it one shot once we stopped for the night…. handheld at 2.0 sec shutter speed. It looked awful on the camera’s screen, but surprised me once I downloaded to the computer. If only I had known, I might have worked at some way to steady the camera for a better image… so it goes! O_o

Lunar Eclipse doesn’t that sound like a car you can only drive at night? 
Stanley Victor Paskavich

37 thoughts on “The South West trip -day 2

    • Thanks, Lynn. I was pretty amazed to pull the ibis in even with the 300 mm zoom and some heavy cropping. The white dots were the Avocets. Luckily they were a lot closer the previous evening and lit up better, too!

      Like

  1. I was just reading your comments here and had to laugh a bit because I was in California the night of the blood moon, kicking myself for not having a tripod…I almost went out a bought a cheap one but my husband talked me out of it. Your mood image came out great!! But then again, all your images are great!

    Like

    • Oh, we thought of any number of tricks to try- propping the camera on the hood of the van or other desperate measures, but it looked as though clouds were obscuring the moon anyway, so I just gave it that one wild attempt while leaning on the van. It turned out far better than I could have imagined. Not perfect but good enough.

      Like

  2. I am enjoying your adventure, Gunta, thanks for taking us along. I really like that close-up of the ibis, really great. I am glad you were able to find a good spot to view the eclipse — it was a wonderful night of clear skies for us too, what a wonderful break. 😀

    Like

    • I’m glad to have you along on this latest adventure. That Ibis was so far out that I didn’t think I’d get anything worthwhile, but that was a lucky shot. Hmmm… no one seems to have caught on to the joke I made up while I was talking about the Ibis, you-bis, she-bis, he-bis etc etc. Oh well, guess you had to be there. We had a good laugh over that one!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so very much for the kind comments. The birds are quite interesting to shoot, but also a challenge. I happy you enjoyed them. The Super Moon didn’t turn out as well as I might have liked, but I was content to get it at all.

      Like

  3. Well, I loved the atmospheric black and white deer shot! Beautiful, Gunta. I’ve never had much success with the lunar eclipse pics. You’ve done way better than me! Surprising it turned out so well without a tripod. Next time! 🙂

    Like

    • Hmmm… I don’t generally care for black and white shots, but tuned down the saturation quite a bit in order to make the deer more visible. I remember a previous eclipse (around 2010???) before I had the DSLR. I set up the little point ‘n shoot on the tripod. I set a timer and took a shot about every 15 min. It was just approaching the blood red phase when I decided the results were pretty bad, judging by the little screen on the camera. I quit shooting and really regretted it when I pulled up the results on the computer screen. I suppose I keep trying for the “perfect” shot someday. Thanks for the visit and the comment. I always enjoy your contributions so much!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Later on I actually got a shot of the jackrabbits that play at chicken. The same campsite also provided a shot of the darling little cotton-tails that are simply too adorable for words. Stay tuned! 😀

      Like

  4. Not a bad shot of the eclipse, considering it was handheld. I liked the story of the kamikaze rabbits, we have squirrels that do that around here. I like the photos of the desert, but I’d miss trees if I were there for very long.

    Like

    • Sigh… you can tell I’m not at all used to carrying a tripod around. It’s mostly too much fuss and bother. I was rather astounded that the one shot turned out as well as it did. I’m with you about missing trees (and water). The desert is certainly fun to visit on occasion, but I’d struggle actually living out there.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What a treat! Thanks for this. Each one is unique, the first two are remarkable to see, such gorgeous birds. And I’d missed the eclipse altogether, good shot tripod or not. One of the best pictures I ever took of a huge moon over Big Sur and a brilliant starry starry night around it and ridge of dark purple mountains below had one and a half moons, but I love it anyway. I’m delighted to hear of your interesting travels, on the road again.

    Like

    • I never would have spotted those Ibis if it hadn’t been for Eric pointing them out. I don’t know how he manages to see them at such a distance. Know what you mean about loving the eclipse shot even if it didn’t turn out perfect…. though it would have been nice to have the tripod. I like to save the travels for the times when there are less folks out and about. What we didn’t count on this time was hunting season opening up as we got into the following week. Still, it was loads of fun regardless.

      Like

    • It might have been a whole bunch better if I’d had the tripod and hadn’t given up on the clouds moving out of the way. We headed way out in the middle of nowhere to avoid as much light pollution as possible and then I there was that dumb move forgetting the tripod. Still kicking myself. 😉

      Like

  6. I did a lot of shots of the 2014 full moon eclipse with a tripod and was also pleasantly surprised at how well the downloaded image was over what the little camera screen showed.

    Like

    • I’m sure you can imagine how frustrated I was to forget to pack the tripod! 😦 Here we had traveled to the high desert in no-man’s land to have the sky nice and dark and then there were the clouds and forgetting the tripod. Arghhh

      Like

Leave a Reply

