poodle paddle

To my surprise, Sissy seems to be taking to kayaking as much as I have.Sixes_River-2273

Showing off her PFD (poodle flotation device… or life jacket to us older folk).

Sixes_River-2277

Looking impatient to get going…

Sixes_River-0201

Chilling with her chin comfortably resting on the gunnel…

Sixes_River-0213

End of the ride, ready to jump out. (This is a dog who previously didn’t like getting her feet wet. Not even to walk in wet grass to do her business outside.)

When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles
and the bottle’s on a poodle and the poodle’s eating noodles…
…they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle
bottle paddle battle.Ā 
ā€• Dr. Seuss, Fox in Socks

37 thoughts on “poodle paddle

    • Thanks, the pup is such a trooper as long as she’s in my kayak. We get some whining if she’s in the other boat. I’m having to learn to juggle the camera with her in there with me.

      Like

  1. Looks like great fun for everyone. That’s quite the smile.

    I don’t think I remember that Dr. Seuss quote – it’s wonderful. Maybe I need to go back to reading those books.

    Like

  2. Loved seeing you two together having fun. I had a dog who hated getting her feet wet on dew-covered grass so I can understand how surprising this must be for you to see, I’m glad she enjoys it. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’m not entirely sure you know the current lingo. I didn’t. These days they call life vests PFDs. Which actually stands for Personal Flotation Devices (I personally think life vest is so much easier and to the point)… but then, having a poodle, it was easy to rename it a Poodle Flotation Device. But they do indeed make the things for poodles and other dogs because so many folks go boating with their canines. That handle certainly makes it much easier to pull her out of the water if she were to fall in. Especially if she were to be struggling.

      Like

    • She does look rather smart in that poodle floatation device. I love that she seems to enjoy the paddle (just as long as she’s in the kayak with me… she really is a bit of a mamma’s girl!) šŸ˜‰

      Like

    • She really seems to enjoy floating on the river as long as she’s in my kayak. We tried switching her to Eric’s so I could deal with the camera, but she whined to get back in with me.

      Like

  3. We used to take our dogs canoeing. One was seized by who knows what impulse and jumped out in the middle of a large river. Another jumped from the dock over the canoe, landing splat in the water beside it. Any idea how hard it is to pull a wet cocker into a canoe?

    Like

    • That handle on the life vest makes it way easier to pick the pup up. Haven’t tried it when she’s wet, but it does come in very handy when transferring from one kayak to the other.

      Like

    • Note the handy handle on the life jacket for pulling her out of the water or for switching from one kayak to the other (that’s been done). We don’t go out without life jackets. That’s why I’m so FAT in the last shot because my life vest was under the jacket. šŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

