In response

Some conditions call for slow and easy, and water lilies are one of those, who knows what you’ll find in a spot like that if you slip in as quietly as you can. It’s a lot easier than fighting through them also.

Slow and easy was a bit hard to come by with a bit of a breeze and some current, but you reminded me that I was surprised to find some critters (Pied-billed Grebes) hiding in the lily pads once I downloaded the shots. They’re not easy to spot, but hope you can find them.

Pied-billed_Grebe-4552

When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world. 
John Muir

19 thoughts on “In response

  1. I’ve always found grebes to be fairly shy here so I’m glad you accidentally found these ones from the water lillies shot. Lovely photo and quote as always. Jerry does give good encouraging birding advice too, doesn’t he. 🙂

    Like

    • I was rather thrilled at this lovely surprise myself. Jerry does give great birding and photography advice. He helped me pick out the lenses I’m using and I’m quite happy with them… though there’s always that temptation to want to upgrade.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciated the reminder that I had captured these guys. I vaguely remember seeing some movement and shooting relatively blind, only to find them in the shot after downloading. Pure luck to catch the birds, much less the breeding plumage!

      Like

Leave a Reply

