the end of the trip

Things I’ve learned about kayaking…Cascades-4614

See that mass of stuff along the edge of the lake? Trying to edge into it to shoot some of the water lily blossoms, it’s hard to ‘steer’ with a camera at your face… and the kayak doesn’t stand still for a shot while crashing into the midst of that mass of water lily pads… but I tried:

Then again I also learned that it was impossible for me to crawl out of the warm sleeping bag before the crack of dawn… unlike some folks dedicated to fishing… I managed to catch the following after a lovely snooze, giving the sun a chance to warm things up:

Cascades-4664

I’ll add one other volcanic peak on the way home. Mt Thielsen impressive for its very sharp pointy top:

Cascades-4672

Not one I’d want to climb. Not that I do much climbing anyway. But pretty fantastic to look at from a distance.

The art of living… is neither careless drifting on the one hand nor fearful clinging to the past on the other. It consists in being sensitive to each moment, in regarding it as utterly new and unique, in having the mind open and wholly receptive.
Alan W. Watts

20 thoughts on “the end of the trip

  1. 🙂 I can imagine the difficulty, trying to photograph those pretty water lilies and drifting all over the place! But I’m glad you’re having plenty of outdoor time this summer!

    Like

    • Just back from another fun trip… this was my first one on a river rather than a small calm lake. Hope I came back with stuff to post, though I took the dog along this time and juggling the camera was difficult. But it’s nice to have my little sweetie along.

      Like

  2. Loved these pictures, especially that first one with the glorious mountains in the background. Such a beautiful location. I’ve only kayaked a little when I was young but really enjoyed it. The water lilies do look tricky to manoeuvre through and photograph though! I think you did a great job though. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Jane. Crashing into those water lilies was part of the fun. I was laughing the whole time as I tried to ‘talk’ the kayak into stopping! 😀 Luckily there was a dear friend there to ‘rescue’ me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Some conditions call for slow and easy, and water lilies are one of those, who knows what you’ll find in a spot like that if you slip in as quietly as you can. It’s a lot easier than fighting through them also.

    A warm sleeping bag on a cool morning is great, but I love sunrises, so the sleeping bag that can hold me hasn’t been built yet. 😉

    Like

    • I posted a picture of a surprise I found in the lily pads for you. As for the warm sleeping bag. There was one occasion when I managed to roll out and snap a few shots of the sunrise lighting up Mt Whitney, but if it takes more effort than that, then forget about it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Adrian… all of these mountains are volcanoes. Dormant for many, many centuries but capable of violently awakening like Mt St Helens (if you’re not too young to remember that one?)

      Like

Leave a Reply

