Clear Lake, Oregon

Continuing the adventure… in case you haven’t seen enough of this placid lake:

Clear_Lake-4171

(oops, caught a bit of my kayak in the corner, but decided to leave it as part of the scene).

Clear_Lake-4257

Row boats for hire if you’re not lucky enough to own your own kayak… 😉

Clear_Lake-4238

I seem to be drawn to these lovely wakes left by the ducks and the colored reflections on the water.

Clear_Lake-4235

So many ducks to shoot that weren’t flying off at the drop of a hat… (some goldeneyes, with a tiny dipper to the left.)

Clear_Lake-4178

This is very heavily cropped because I didn’t have the zoom lens at this moment, but it was an osprey that flew overhead carrying his catch.

Clear_Lake-4384

A common merganser. These ducks always make me think of Phyllis Diller with her goofy hairdo, though this one’s hairdo isn’t fluffed up or clearly visible in this shot.

Clear_Lake-4399

A favorite action shot. ( a teal and the back end of a goldeneye)

Clear_Lake-4463

A closer look at a goldeneye. (Who knew there were so many varied ducks?)

Clear_Lake-4490

A blue winged teal. This one and her babies will be featured in the next post. That’s more than enough shots for one post.

Come away, O human child!
To the waters and the wild
With a faery, hand in hand,
For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand. 
W.B. Yeats, The Collected Poems

18 thoughts on “Clear Lake, Oregon

  1. some great colour here – but the Osprey with the fish underneath is cracking – they were extinct in Scotland by 1916 they only returned to Scotland from Scandinavia in 1954 and have been building each year 🙂

    Like

    • The place was absolutely wonderful. I wish I had had the longer zoom with me for that osprey shot, but who knows… might not have been able to get it focused. I’m satisfied with that one for now. Hope to keep honing the skills though.

      Like

  2. I love the colours and reflections of the water and the ripples created by the birds. I especially like the flying take-off scene. Such a magical spot. Knowing how wobbly I am I’d be very nervous taking a camera into the kayak!

    Like

    • I was a wee bit nervous at the start, but then got pretty comfortable with the camera handy. It was well worth the effort. You may agree when you see the baby teal series I plan to post next.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Only wish I’d had the zoom, but it was the first time with the camera in the kayak. With all those wonderful birds around, I couldn’t resist taking the zoom along on the next day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

