spindrift

To quote Wikipedia: Spindrift usually refers to spray, particularly to the spray blown from cresting waves during a gale.

I tend to think of the resulting mist as compensation for the rough winds. It’s beautiful when it tosses spray off the waves. Not so much when its blowing sand in my face. 😉

Bandon-0590

Where are you hiding my love?
Each day without you will never come again.
Even today you missed a sunset on the ocean,
A silver shadow on yellow rocks I saved for you,
A squirrel that ran across the road,
A duck diving for dinner.
My God! There may be nothing left to show you
Save wounds and weariness
And hopes grown dead,
And wilted flowers I picked for you a lifetime ago,
Or feeble steps that cannot run to hold you,
Arms too tired to offer you to a roaring wind,
A face too wrinkled to feel the ocean’s spray. 
James Kavanaugh, There Are Men Too Gentle to Live Among Wolves

34 thoughts on “spindrift

  1. Excellent…and sweet words, too. I thought they might have been by Ms Oliver, as I was reading them line by line, and was surprised that they weren’t. They were still wonderful, though…compelling.

    Like

  2. I was very grateful for the definition of spindrift Gunta, one of those words I sort of knew but didn’t if that makes sense. I love to watch it getting blown back from advancing waves.. 🙂

    Like

    • Apparently spindrift isn’t a word commonly encountered. I know very well what you mean. I had a general sense of the word’s meaning, but had to go to Wikipedia to be absolutely certain.

      Like

    • Interesting how many folks weren’t familiar with that word. It has always struck me as poetic. As for the poem… it does speak to the longing that might have been (or could yet be), but isn’t there at the moment. It’s just so much more fun to have that certain special someone to share the moments with (as you very well know).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kavanaugh’s words made me a little teary. Beautiful but sad. Spindrift is a new word for me. I love watching the spray from the wind and waves against rocks too. Thanks, Gunta.

    Like

    • There’s something about that word spindrift that is magical as is the thing it refers to. Sorry if the quote made you teary. Then again you might keep in mind that I waited 70 years to find that certain special someone. Hoping it doesn’t take you that long, but he could be around that next corner?

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s ok that it made me teary, Gunta. 🙂 I get teary when I read lovely things, whether poignant or happy. I’m so glad you’ve found someone very special at last. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. What great roaring drama! Oh Gunta, what a feast you lay before us. And, in truth, once I am over the stun of your remarkable places and perfect breathtaking seconds, I get yet one more thrill and nod, yes, the girl with the camera was standing there caught in the middle and riding the whirlwind.

    Like

    • Caught in the middle indeed (though thank heavens for zoom lenses!) I suspect it truly is the drama of the ocean I love the most. The calm sunny days not so much… though those are still better than any other place I can think of.

      Like

    • I’m not sure I followed the explanation perfectly, but it had something to do with the waves in the Great Lakes being strictly wind driven and that the spray comes off of ocean waves differently somehow??? Bottom line seemed to be the angle at which the wind hits the waves. Perhaps?

      Like

  5. I love the spray, and I think I must have known what “spindrift” means, but it feels like the first time I’ve read the word. Beautiful post, Gunta. 🙂

    Like

    • I very much agree with you on that. I get pretty impatient plowing through too much text. I suppose much depends on subject matter though, whether I’m actually interested, or not.

      Like

    • I’ve actually seen storms that have tossed gulls ass over teakettle. We sat in a restaurant in Port Orford another time where we watched the crows having a really good time getting blown around by the gale force winds. It’s actually fun to get out in some of our wild storms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

