Devil’s Punch Bowl

It took a bit of searching, but thanks to some hints in Lynn’s post, we found the path down to the beach where we could walk into the “Punch Bowl”. It was a very low (minus) tide, so walking in there was possible.

DevilsPunchBowl-3056

I’ve seen some shots of this taken at high tide and it fills with water. Probably not up to the brim, but enough where I wouldn’t want to be caught in there as the tide came in.

DevilsPunchBowl-3061

Wandering a bit farther in.

DevilsPunchBowl-3065

Eric exploring and providing a sense of scale. He blends in a bit with the color scheme, so you might have to look closely. For an even closer look, there’s an orange starfish off to his right a bit.

DevilsPunchBowl-3070

For a bit more of a challenge and a better sense of the scale of this thing, find Eric in this shot. There’s also the hole where the water comes in (or perhaps just one of the openings.)

DevilsPunchBowl-3066

A closeup of the orange walls.

DevilsPunchBowl-3082

The Punch Bowl as seen from a distance. The bowl starts at the lowest end of the outcrop and extends to the ocean. There’s an overlook to see down into the bowl, but somehow I missed taking a shot while we were up there. I expect some of you will think this looks cold and dreary, but it was actually bracing and the kind of weather I enjoy.

Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where โ€“”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.
โ€• Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

27 thoughts on “Devil’s Punch Bowl

  1. ooh, looks like an intriguing place to explore. Took me a bit to find Eric..had to go get my glasses! He certainly does lend scale to those huge formations!

    Like

    • We made sure to get there at a minus tide which gave us plenty of time to explore before any water started coming in. (That’s what tide charts are for! ) ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

    • You’d need a worry wart like me along to worry about the incoming tide, but we were there during a minus tide (very, very low tide) and had plenty of time.

      Like

  2. I don’t think it looks cold and dreary at all, but I suspect you and I like the same kind of weather. What a beautiful place! I needed a second look to find Eric in the second shot, but I found him. Beautiful shots, Gunta. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • I suspect you’re right about us liking the same kind of weather. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Eric does have a tendency to blend in. I suspect it may help him to sneak up on critters.

      Like

  3. I always find it very interesting to see the variations in the rock surfaces at the beach – there are rounded boulders and jagged edges, chunk like shapes etc. I love the orange and green colours on the rocks too. Is it mossy stuff? I really like exploring these kind of places. Thanks for sharing this fascinating spot.

    Like

    • The orange is likely to be some sort of lichen, while the green is mossy stuff as you guessed. It was interesting exploring this amazing spot, but I’m a bit of a coward about getting into enclosed spaces (also heights), so my exploring was a bit limited. I didn’t dare go in as far as Eric did. I just stayed near the entrance and shot him while he roamed around.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

