springtime on the Central Oregon Coast

Quite a few wild flowers were in bloom in the forested areas along the coast. The most flagrant were the rhododendrons. Here’s a small slideshow of some I found on a recent hike. If anyone can add to the identification of those I didn’t know, I’d be grateful. (Mouse over for text.)

I didn’t recognize that last flower as being part of the carnivorous pitcher plant, luckily Eric captured a shot of it for me to add.

To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring — these are some of the rewards of the simple life. 
― John Burroughs, Leaf and Tendril

24 thoughts on “springtime on the Central Oregon Coast

    • The wild ones always seem to come in that particular shade of pink you see here and they don’t generally bloom in the profusion of the cultivated ones, but they are lovely just the same.

      Like

  1. Ahhh, the rhodies of Oregon…so delightful, what a treat. Also enjoyed all the other spring beauties here, espec. the very cool pitcher plants. Beautiful photos Gunta, and the J. Burroughs quote brought a smile to my face.

    Like

    • Honestly, when I moved here I thought I’d died and gone to heaven (as my dearly departed used to say)! You, too, could move here, but you may not find that ideal job you’ve just recently managed to snag. The coast on that day of the flowers was heavily overcast, gray and dreary, so it was time to focus on flowers and critters. You saw the rather dark shot I posted of the coast a few days back.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, I have never seen any Pitcher Plants in the wild! Wish I could help you out identifying the unknown species. I have seen the green leafy plants with the little cluster of white blooms, though. Hopefully, someone can come to the rescue to identify them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

