a surprise at the aerie

I’ve been watching the nest pretty closely lately and today was an extraordinary thrill… pull up the slide show for a closer look. I had a hard time narrowing down to just these shots. I can’t see a lot of detail through the viewfinder while I’m shooting. The nest is a goodly distance away and even with the 300mm lens, these images are cropped pretty radically, but the motions that the adult was making made me think I might catch sight of a new arrival…. and I DID!!!

Live! Live the wonderful life that is in you! Let nothing be lost upon you. Be always searching for new sensations. Be afraid of nothing. 
Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

35 thoughts on “a surprise at the aerie

    • This is the second year that I’ve watched the Decorah nest. Such fun to watch them fledge. Wish I could see as well in the nest near me. My batch looks so much younger than those in Decorah.

      Like

    • I never thought I’d be catching sights like this, but it seems (judging by your interview) that you know the delights that come with carrying a camera around! 🙂

      Like

    • I couldn’t believe my luck. I’m not good at estimating distance, but the nest is a two-lane road, a meadow and a river width away from where I’m shooting. I couldn’t see the little one, but I kept clicking because of the way the adult was poking around in the nest. I thought I could make out a wisp of movement, but I wasn’t sure. You can just imagine my excitement when I got home to discover that little wisp turned out to be the fuzzy little eaglet.

      Like

    • Yep, same nest. I’ve kept an eye on the nest off and on. It’s fun to figure out or guess what’s happening up there. I was beyond thrilled when I downloaded and saw how tiny the little thing was. It’s not very old. Wonder if they’ll have more than the one like last year.

      Like

    • It was sheer, utter luck finding the nest, but the rest was taking the time to check it out off and on. I feel blessed to catch the shot of this really tiny one this year. Last year I never saw a chick until it was ready to fledge.

      Like

  1. How thrilling! I’m very excited for you. I would love to have seen the chicks. I’ve only seen nests of large birds of prey (like wedge-tailed eagles) from a distance and never seen them caring for young. Thanks for sharing these great moments. You’ve done well to capture these shots!

    Like

    • I discovered the nest over a year ago. This is the second batch I’ve been around to witness. Got a glimpse of the young one a whole lot earlier this year. Last year I didn’t manage until the hatchling was about to fledge.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

