gaggles of geese

Walking along the river, we came across this gaggle of White-Fronted Geese on the other side of the river.geese-2080

As we got closer, it seemed as though they were reluctant to fly, but waddled away from the river instead.

geese-2073

It wasn’t until a pair of bald eagles flew by that the geese took to the air.

geese-2096

It never ceases to amaze me how they can fly so close together without major collisions and falling out of the air.

geese-2095

One swallow does not make a summer, but one skein of geese, cleaving the murk of a March thaw, is the spring.Β 

― Aldo Leopold

16 thoughts on “gaggles of geese

  1. Oh, great action shots, Gunta! Also, I had never heard of a skein of geese until I read that quote. I think the only native geese we have here are magpie geese but I will have to check up on that.

    Like

    • Well, it was pretty marvelous to watch that large flock all taking off at the same time and then they circled around overhead to give me plenty of chances to get some decent shots. I’d never heard of magpie geese. I’ll have to look them up. Seems to me we have a wealth of various goose types around here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

