scratch one item on the wish list

I’ve always been completely, unabashedly jealous of folks seeing Sandhill Cranes in the wild.Β Sandhill_Cranes-0648

So I was beside myself when I managed to shoot this pair somewhere on the way to the Lower Klamath Wildlife Refuge. Little did I know what awaited me at the Refuge.

They are such magnificent wild birds and listening to their calls was a thrill.

There are some who can live without wild things and some who cannot.
― Aldo Leopold

42 thoughts on “scratch one item on the wish list

  1. Aren’t they the best? That call, multiplied by hundreds, is powerful and mesmerizing. I was astounded to see a pair next to a pond in a yard in suburban Florida about 5 winters ago. When we went to Arizona recently I read about their presence in the area we were going to – actually that’s one of the reasons we chose the southeastern corner – so we drove out to a refuge at sunset and were treated to hundreds of them flying in for the evening. We stayed until we could barely see our way back to the car, it was so spectacular. Great photos – and not bad to have Mt. Hood n the background!

    Like

  2. You sure scored abundance here! Beautiful photos and words, you bring the thrill alive. I go to a refuge every winter to see the s. Cranes, for 21 yrs, and never, ever tire of it. I’m so glad you received this fortune Gunta! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. It made me smile when you said their call gives you a thrill. We have a pair of cranes that migrated back here to Latvia and what a racket they made for most of the next few days. Talk about the peace and quiet of the countryside!!!! Do the Sandhill cranes make less noise than ours do? I’m just glad the ones here were on the other side of valley, goodness only knows what our neighbour was thinking as they were right outside her house.

    Like

    • I didn’t actually study up on the seasons that particular birds happen to be there. We were just phenomenally lucky to catch the mobs of snow geese and the sandhill cranes when we did (end of February). We’ve been watching huge numbers of geese heading north around here, so don’t know if they’ve left Klamath by now, or not.

      Like

  4. Seeing and hearing large flocks of the sandhill cranes is a treat that I’m lucky to witness regularly, I’m glad that you were able to experience the thrill as well. Not only that, but your scenery makes a much better backdrop for better photos of them.

    Like

    • I suspect that I was far more excited at seeing the sandhill cranes because it was such a rare occasion for me. It certainly didn’t hurt to have Mt Shasta in the background.

      Like

  5. Another magical moment I would have enjoyed sharing with you. πŸ™‚ I’m so pleased for you. Fantastic shots, Gunta! This will be something to remember forever. I love the quote too. Not sure I could live without wild things!

    Like

  6. Great photos, Gunta! Naturalist Roger Deakin described birds as “rowing” across the sky. The imagery of those words caught my attention, and the description is captured by your photos.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lavinia. They did look rather like they might have been rowing. I was so enthralled, I don’t think I could have come up with a coherent description at the time.

      Like

  7. Such a majestic bird and I am right there with you Gunta, absolutely love their call. I had the pleasure of having one allow me to get within three feet of him, then I sat down and watched him preen. I could have reached out and touched him. I was in heaven. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. It looks like you made the most of your opportunity Gunta. What a great experience it must have been, with and without the camera. I’m extremely jealous of your lovely wing shots … with the beautiful mountains in the background.

    Like

  9. So incredibly wonderful, oh what a chance in a lifetime to be there, camera ready, in love with the subject. Yes you surely wished yourself in it. Georgia O’Keeffe said of the mountain she loved in New Mexico that God told her if she loved and painted it enough it was hers.
    I also think the birds felt you close by and waited to show to show off to display back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

