Mojave sunset

I’m enthralled with the beauty and serenity to be found in the desert…
(click on any image for the slideshow)

One day, I saw a tiny nopalito (cactus sapling) growing not too far from an old tree. I wanted to dig it up and replant it near our house in Zacatecas. I told my mom that I would protect it from the wind and that I would water it every day so that it could grow nice and tall and strong. My mom frowned at me. “You’d be destroying what makes it special,” she said. “It’s a nopalito, it is its struggle that makes it so beautiful…Β 
― JosΓ© N. Harris, MI VIDA: A Story of Faith, Hope and Love

35 thoughts on “Mojave sunset

    • Not to mention the rattlesnakes… I did walk very carefully and certainly never barefoot. But it has a strange, unearthly sort of beauty that I never appreciated before this trip.

      Like

  1. Coming from the green wet east coast climate I only saw the sparseness of the desert environment and equated it with nothingness. It was a visit to the Tucson desert museum that educated me and opened my eyes up to the amazing plants and animals that can live in this ecosystem..

    Like

    • Having crossed miles and miles of desert on the freeways, it does seem to stretch on into nothingness. I finally got a glimpse of its beauty one spring when we happened to visit when all the cactus were blooming. This latest trip had me really appreciating on a deeper level. Still wouldn’t want to be there in the summer! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

