Travels in the SW-US – day 1

starting off wet and slow…

We left Oregon on the tail-end of the torrential downpours known as the Pineapple Express. I was worn out from packing and stressing over having everything in order. Tired generally makes me crabby, so while Eric took the wheel, I rolled out the bed in the back of the van and caught up on some much needed sleep. It was pretty exciting and soothing at the same time to listen to the rain and the wind as he drove down I-5.

We stopped in Yreka, California for some lunch/dinner. That was when I woke up, having traveled roughly 200 miles and ditched the grumpiness. I missed the rainbow over Mt Shasta, so you’ll just have to imagine that part along with me.

Actually… I never took a photo that entire day. Perhaps you’ll make do with the souvenir I picked up later in the Mojave (since I had neglected to pack a hat for the desert adventures!) The Roadrunner seemed to be a good symbol for the adventures we were having. It didn’t hurt that I finally sighted a real live one for the first time. Sadly it disappeared before I could grab the camera.road_runner-0443

First night in a campground in Oroville, CA was actually fun in spite of some rain showers. Nearly 400 miles (644 km) covered the first day. Far too much driving, but we had an appointment to keep in Mexico.

To be continued…

The bridge will only take you halfway there, to those mysterious lands you long to see. Through gypsy camps and swirling Arab fair, and moonlit woods where unicorns run free. So come and walk awhile with me and share the twisting trails and wondrous worlds I’ve known. But this bridge will only take you halfway there. The last few steps you have to take alone. 
Shel Silverstein

25 thoughts on “Travels in the SW-US – day 1

  1. I have neglected you, dear Gunta! Our house went up for sale & we’re looking for a new one, and busy packing this one. That’s my excuse, and along with it my apology. Now I am off for an adventure alongside you & Eric. Wooohoooo!

    Like

    • Not to worry. Except for taking time off for this trip to get some dental work done, we’ve been busy with evicting folks from my old house and getting it ready to put up for sale. So, I’ve had the very same problem keeping up with blogging. How very sweet of you to be concerned about staying with me (so to speak)!

      Like

  2. I like this photo! And I get why you stressed out packing and needed to rest. Guess what – I saw my first Roadrunner, too! Doing what? Running across the road! It was fast, furious, and fun. Definitely no time to get the camera.

    Like

  3. We used to have roadrunners pop in the back yard. With the dogs they stay out. But i see them all the time walking. Usually herding a passel of kids to a better hiding spot. lol

    Like

    • Not having spent a great deal of time in the desert, I had never actually seen one until this trip. On the other hand there’s the story Eric told of the woman who hated them because they were eating quail chicks. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

