between the storms

The Pacific Northwest seems to get a bad rap about raining all the time, but between storms there are these amazing days straight from the place dreams come from. Here’s just one example from today… yet one more Christmas present of a day!CoosBay-9679And yet another look because just one didn’t seem to be enough….CoosBay-9684The glory of friendship is not the outstretched hand, not the kindly smile, nor the joy of companionship; it is the spiritual inspiration that comes to one when you discover that someone else believes in you and is willing to trust you with a friendship.Β 
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

29 thoughts on “between the storms

  1. Like silk! I like that – “straight from the place dreams come from.” I was thinking today how nice it is to watch the changing skies when the rainy days come by, because often it’s not at all a rainy gray day – it’s a very mixed up, changeable day, with much to offer.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lynn. I’m not sure if this winter has been especially gorgeous before, during and after the usual storms, or if I’ve just been paying more attention, but I’m loving it! Today was one of those that seemed to change from one moment to the next, offering some wild and wonderful photo ops.

      Like

    • Every now and then, throughout my life, I’ve reached a point where I just can’t stomach the world events and have to turn to nature to soothe me. There’s not much I can do to change the craziness that seems to be happening, but I can sure change my personal space… at least for awhile. Thanks for the nice comments. They are truly appreciated.

      Like

    • Luckily, I don’t have to get up early for the sunsets we have. I don’t do quite as well with the sunrises (generally not being fully conscious when the sun shows up.)

      Like

  2. What a gorgeous Christmas present. Beautiful images! And I certainly agree that the joy in friendship is that “someone else believes in you and is willing to trust you with a friendship”. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I feel much the same about avoiding snow as much as is earthly possible, but I think I hate summer heat even more. The periodic storms do bring in some marvelous clouds and sunsets and rainbows. I honestly can’t think of any place I’d rather live.

      Like

Leave a Reply

