Island in Time Trail

This was one of the most fun hikes I’ve taken in a long time. The eerie, other-wordly blue-green of the landscape was totally captivating. I’ll start with the beginning of the hike where the colors began to appear… there’s more to come as I dove into the bizarre shapes and colors…

john_day-7794

The hint of blue-green to come on the hillside ahead…

john_day-7815

Footbridges to get across the gully… we were warned of thirteen (that’s 13!!!) footbridges that dogs might object to along the way, but our pup didn’t hesitate, nor seem to notice.

john_day-7802

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.
― Marcel Proust

35 thoughts on “Island in Time Trail

    • She enjoyed the hike, but had to stay on leash for this one. The colors are incredible, but sadly I didn’t get to the Painted Hills section where they are quite different again. Maybe next time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. There is some of that blue-green rock/dirt/mountain on Highway 20 between Panguitch and Beaver in Utah…it was very compelling. Sweet photos, Gunta…I’d love to have joined you there.

    Like

  2. Absolutely love your quote, Gunta.

    And I love especially your 2nd photo here. I like that there’s foreground & midground & background. But then, I love the 1st shot too, because I like the green and it reminds me of my college geology class, and how I felt mesmerized by the physical earth.

    Thanks for the ride!

    Like

Leave a Reply

