things to come…

The John Day Fossil Beds National Monument is a pretty amazing place. For now, I’ll just provide a taste of the scene shot from the Paleontology Center before we ventured out to hike. I have quite a few images to sort through yet from this amazing hike. The skies were wonderfully overcast and didn’t seem to interfere withΒ capturing the beauty of this weird and wonderful area.

john_day-7780

What we do see depends mainly on what we look for. … In the same field the farmer will notice the crop, the geologists the fossils, botanists the flowers, artists the colouring, sportmen the cover for the game. Though we may all look at the same things, it does not all follow that we should see them.
― John Lubbock, The Beauties of Nature and the Wonders of the World We Live in

40 thoughts on “things to come…

  1. this is lovely. where is it? sometimes overcast days bring out the texture and color of landscape, seascape, whateverscape more than sunny ones. thank you for posting. beautiful!

    Like

    • It’s part of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument in Eastern Oregon. It seems you’re right about the overcast helping with the color. I was rather afraid it might mute the tones, but seems to have enhanced them instead.

      Like

  2. We wanted to stop here on our cross-country move drive but ran out of time….believe it or not we had to go shopping before we stopped for the night at our landlords’s house in Sisters. Had to shop because I had a job interview pending before the moving truck and my clothes would arrive…..LOL Did not get the job. Should have visited this area instead LOL

    Like

  3. Lol that quote reminds me of the time Ian and I were sat in the back of the car being driven by our son and noticing all the managed and unmanaged woodlands in the UK and the types of bales in farmers’ fields. My son’s comment was that Ian needed to stay in more – after all, he can’t stay out more, he’s out in the fields and the woods all day πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. That’s some striking scenery, Gunta. Thanks for sharing and expanding my horizons! I love the quotes you post along with the photos, which is how I stumbled across Mary Oliver. “Long Life” arrived, and I have started digging in. Thank you!

    Like

    • Ahhh… the scenery of eastern Oregon has so much more to offer than most folks realize. I suppose that is part of its appeal to me. As for Mary Oliver… I stumbled across her in search of quotes and have really, really fallen for her wonderful words that seem to speak to my core. May you enjoy your new book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

