Joseph, Oregon

Along with being the proximate location for Wallowa Lake and Hells Canyon, it’s the home of Valley Bronze, the foundry that produces marvelous lifesize bronze sculptures. The statues are at various locations in this quaint town.joseph-7211
My favorite, one I kept going back to, was this one titled Attitude Adjustment by Austin Barton.joseph-7213
The action and motion and detail caught in this sculpture is utterly amazing.

joseph-7367

My second favorite was the above – Garden Walk by Ramon Parmenter.

joseph-7365

Note the marvelous mountains in the background.

joseph-7368

Sadly I haven’t been able to locate the name of the artist for this one.

joseph-7372

Note Garden Walk across the street…

37 thoughts on “Joseph, Oregon

    • There are quite a few bronzes in Joseph. All are marvelous. I posted just my favorites. There were more I drooled over in a gallery, but couldn’t take pictures.

      Like

  1. What beautiful work…and such remarkable detail, especially in Attitude Adjustment…and yes, I noticed those marvelous mountains in the background of Garden Walk….sigh. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. What wonderful sculptures, Gunta, and I love the way you’ve captured them. The first one is absolutely breathtaking, and would be my favourite too, but the ladies in the garden come a close second. The mountains are the perfect backdrop to that rearing horse and his rider. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you, Sylvia… this town was quite the little artist colony especially the galleries. There were some pieces I would have been tempted to rob a bank to purchase…. šŸ˜‰ Then there was the mountains. Hells Canyon rivals the Grand Canyon in some ways (in my opinion) and far less crowded with mobs of tourists. Hard to capture the true majesty and grandeur, but there’s more to come. šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Magnificent sculptures! I think art for the public is wonderful. The woman with the blue dress is my favorite. But each is so wonderful, it is a hard choice šŸ™‚

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree more. It’s so pleasant to walk around and see art displayed. It seems to add so much to the ambiance, not to mention the way good art can uplift the spirits.

      Like

  4. I did wonder where you had gone off to! Glad your back and sharing those wonderful photos.

    Ordered Mary Oliver’s book “Long Life”. Looking forward to it arriving. Thanks for posting quotes fom her! Didn’t know she was living in Provincetown. Spent quite a few vacations there when I lived back east.

    Like

    • Thanks much, Lavinia. It was pretty weird and wonderful to have extremely limited internet access during the trip, but it proved that it can be done! I picked up two Mary Oliver books while in Joseph. I think she’s pretty wonderful. I, too, spent some happy times out at the Cape.

      Like

  5. On my recent trip to New Jersey I went with my friend to visit someone she knows in a nursing home. The land was originally the site of an estate and the grounds still had many painted bronzes, similar to your Garden Walk woman. I liked the guy filling his pipe with tobacco and the gardener getting ready to weed.

    Like

  6. I never get over the fact that we have so much in this world that seems to go unnoticed. This is an amazing journey.and thank you for turning me on. Peggy and I have been talking about doing the eastern part of the state as our next adventure. You helped settle the decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

