gone and back…

If anyone missed me, I’m back from a marvelous trip into Oregon’s mountains. I’m still trying to catch up on emails and reading blogs, commenting, etc Have to admit it was a wonderful break, having limited internet access, but catching up has been a challenge. For now, I’ll just give you a glimpse….wallowa-7189Lake Wallowa, the gateway to Hells Canyon. What peace and quiet and bliss look like…. 🙂

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting –
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.
Mary Oliver

37 thoughts on “gone and back…

    • Apparently you haven’t seen the canyon itself yet. Some magnificent mountains with nearly vertical drop-offs in places. I imagine the first travelers having one ‘hell’ of a time getting through there. 😀

      Like

    • Thank you, Robin. Mary Oliver touches something very deep in my soul. I agree that this one is a particular favorite. We’ve been seeing some returning geese in flight, too.

      Like

  1. Lovely scene, Gunta. Hope you had a good trip.

    (sometimes it’s good to be away from the internet. After my computer crashed last week, I got to find out ‘first hand’. If it wasn’t for the stress of it all, I would say it was a really worthwhile experience. Unfortunately, never got time to take any photos though).

    Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear you’re back home safe & sound.

    I love this image and the poem you’ve shared. Especially the last phrase “announcing your place in the family of things”

    Like

    • Thanks, Jerry. I got to see some new birds for me. Wish I’d had your skill with the beast to catch them, but I’ll have to make do… new to me was a dipper, Clark’s Nutcracker and a mountain bluebird…. 😀

      Like

    • It may take awhile to get settled back into a routine again, but I’ll try to post something whenever I can. It was a fantastic trip. We came back through John Day and the hike there was jaw dropping.

      Like

Leave a Reply

