mountains to climb

Seems the time is approaching to travel some… direction seems to be the only question… or whether there’s snow in the mountains yet?shasta-9361
There’s a race of men that don’t fit in,
A race that can’t sit still;
So they break the hearts of kith and kin, And they roam the world at will.
They range the field and rove the flood,
And they climb the mountain’s crest; Theirs is the curse of the gypsy blood,
And they don’t know how to rest.ย 
โ€• Robert W. Service

41 thoughts on “mountains to climb

    • Thanks, I’ll have to google some images of your ‘buttermilk sky’. I seem to have become obsessed with clouds and all we get these days are skies utterly devoid of any clouds. -sigh-

      Like

    • I’ll certainly try to check the weather before heading in any direction. Haven’t even settled on mountains just yet. Seems there’s just too many great choices -not a bad problem to have.

      Like

  1. Your image is beautiful and goes so well with the poem. I’m feeling a little restless, too. I’d be heading into the snow somewhere if I could after the heat of the past week. I’m looking forward to seeing whatever you discover on your travels. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you, Robin. That restless feeling always seems to wash over me right after Labor Day. I’m working on a direction and plan at the moment. Should be able to scratch that itch fairly soon.

      Like

    • Thanks, Lavinia. I think the Coast Range is a bit too familiar. I’m thinking a bit farther afield. I seem to be leaning toward heading north… perhaps the loop around the Olympic peninsula. Yet to be determined.

      Like

    • Then again it occurred to me that you were maybe asking about the image. That one was taken on a trip to Shasta, California last October -so it would be the south end of the Cascades.

      Like

  2. I look forward to where your wandering mind points you. Wherever it is, your images are certain to delight us! We just crossed over into Colorado and there is snow in the higher peaks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • I’ve considered Sisters. Spent a bit of time there, but then it occurred to me that I have yet to tackle the Oly peninsula that’s on my bucket list. I seem to be leaning in that direction now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

