the darling buds of …february?

It seems a wee bit early for some stirring in the plant kingdom.

Perhaps the dandelions are with us always, but….buds-1757raspberries in waiting seem a bit premature…..buds-1760as are the blueberries…..buds-1767on the other hand, this lovely green volunteer of unknown origin showed up last year and eventually had some beautiful, dainty little flowers and it’s spreading……

Earth, my dearest, oh believe me, you no longer need your springtimes to win me over…Unspeakably, I have belonged to you, from the flush. 
― Rainer Maria Rilke

30 thoughts on “the darling buds of …february?

  1. I’d love to find out who that volunteer is…and the dandies are quite handsome, aren’t they? I’m beginning to see quite a few signs up here, too. I noticed you said you put in your time in Utah & Boston – and I did, too in various parts of NY, NJ, CT, etc. Terrible weather they’re having, but maybe it’s because they sneered and questioned us when we said we were moving up to Seattle. We’re feeling so very happy about not dealing with the frigid air and snow and ice…and I’m thinking of spring here as a very long symphony. With lots of slow movements. That’s fine.

    Like

    • I was rather hoping someone might be able to tell me about the volunteer. I’ll try posting it again later when the flowers are blooming to try again. I didn’t get too many sneers, but I’m sort of torn between celebrating my good luck (and wisdom) in moving to the NW; or feeling really bad for the folks having to endure it. Know what you mean about slow movement. I almost find something new blooming or sprouting daily…. spring is one season to drag out and savor for sure. In Utah, it seemed as though it lasted a week (if we were lucky!) 😉

      Like

    • I’m about to post the flowers from this volunteer. They’re tiny little lilac things. Very pretty, but the plant is taking over a corner of my yard.

      Like

    • I’ve seen cherry blossoms, too, so fruit trees here are flowering. As crazy as the weather has been. a freeze isn’t entirely out of the realm of possibility. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

