benefits of an early start

A trip to the nearest decent airport from here in the boonies involves 150 miles (240km) or just under three hours one way. It also means getting up and out on the road a bit earlier than normal for me. But then there’s scenes like the following for compensation:MyrtlePoint-1468Myrtle Point, Oregon with the fog kissing the hilltops and a herd of elk peeking at me. Amazingly, I didn’t notice them until I downloaded this shot.

When I was a child, adults would tell me not to make things up, warning me of what would happen if I did. As far as I can tell so far, it seems to involve lots of foreign travel and not having to get up too early in the morning. 
― Neil GaimanSmoke and Mirrors

39 thoughts on “benefits of an early start

    • Oh that mist is almost as much fun as the beach and the sunsets. That highway toward civilization follows along the twisty river and produces quite a bit of mist, given the mountains that surround that area, it makes for quite the photogenic scene.

      Like

    • Hadn’t thought of it, but I suspect you’re right about my attention being focused on the show the wisps of fog were putting on. I honestly wish I could get myself in gear for some of these early morning delights, but it’s so very, very difficult.

      Like

    • You’re right. It is elk. I zoomed in for a closer look. That one more or less in the middle, looking toward me is most definitely elk. I just assumed deer, though our elk herds appear to be increasing lately.

      Like

Leave a Reply

