where the cannonballs come from

My friend “Chilli” posted his dinosaur egg beach the other day, inspiring me to show off my puny cannonballs. They may be smaller, but I think they’re just as interesting.
click on any image for a slideshow and a closer look

Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it. The river was cut by the world’s great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time. On some of the rocks are timeless raindrops. Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs. 
I am haunted by waters. 
― Norman MacleanA River Runs Through It and Other Stories

 

31 thoughts on “where the cannonballs come from

  1. Gunta,
    These are neat examples of what geologists call “concretions.” They form as part of fossil-like formation and become harder than the material around them that erodes, leaving these figures.

    They are often referred to a dinosaur eggs etc but not quite so fanciful.

    Ron

    Like

    • Thanks, Ron. While I appreciate (very much) the answer to this question, someone beat you to it. I was provided with a really neat link which includes other locations around here for these fascinating features of various sizes. It’s in the post that followed this one, so others would spot it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Lovely to see your dinosaur eggs Gunta. I hadn’t heard the term concretion and I’m informed by a geologist friend that the rocks at my beach are as I think I said, giant pebbles eroded in fierce storms and left high and dry when the seas receded. They are buried is softer rock and are gradually tumbling onto the beach just as your concretions are but their origins are not organic as I think your concretions are. Fascinating. 🙂

    Like

          • We went to a few places. The first with Nina had to be done at low tide and we slip-slided through seaweed and muck to get to some large concretions. That was at Fossil Point and was a bit difficult to find. From there we went to Yoakam Point north of Sunset Bay State Park to “The Wall”. The next day Terry and I went to Simpson Beach at Shore Acres State Park, all very fascinating. 🙂

            Like

Leave a Reply

