beach fun

bandon-1140I had a bit of fun puzzling this one out. It fits with my series shooting photographers (only figuratively, of course)! 🙂 I didn’t actually realize there was one in this shot until I downloaded. I’m still not entirely sure of what’s happening, with the photographer shooting with the tripod way out in front… anyone have any guesses of what that’s about?

As a rule, the more bizarre a thing is the less mysterious it proves to be. It is your commonplace, featureless crimes which are really puzzling, just as a commonplace face is the most difficult to identify. 
― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

32 thoughts on “beach fun

    • The photographers weigh in with a scenario that seems to make sense. I’d say your theory is about as likely as any. Love the half-squat pose. Makes me think it’s a female. 🙂

      Like

  1. Well, I blew your photo up, and it looks as if the camera on the tripod is pointed at the photographer and that he’s using a cell phone to photograph the camera and tripod. But, it also looks as if he has a second camera dangling from his neck, so I have no idea what he’s doing.

    Like

    • I zoomed in on the original as much as I could and still can’t make out which way the camera on the tripod is pointed. John in the previous comment suggested he might be doing a shot of the camera for a Gravatar. That makes as much sense as anything. The bit hanging from the neck looks more like a scarf or strap.

      Like

  2. I’m thinking the camera is still on the tripod and that’s a cell phone he is using to get a pic of the tripod and its shadow framed against the ocean. Some kind of “meta-art” statement, perhaps.

    Like

  3. Looks to me like there could even be another camera on the tripod or he wanted the shape of the it the foreground. All I know is I would like to be on that beach : )

    Like

  4. It’s a very compelling image regardless of what’s happening down there….the light and the layers of the waves. I like that the rocks and people are in silhouette form. Very nice, Gunta. 🙂

    Like

  5. zoomed in on the rock and wanted to see if 10 feet back makes a difference but didn’t want to bother to move the tripod? All unlikely…if I could write fiction I would come up with a better one LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

