waves

I think I should have gone out to the beach today….. but didn’t. I’m sure the waves in the following image from a week ago were much milder than what I might have seen today. Ahhh… the missed opportunities!

High Surf Warning: * Impacts… the surf zone will see occasional wave run ups that reach much farther into shore than the prevailing waves. Random very large waves will also wash over higher rocks and jetties causing very hazardous conditions in and near area beaches and the immediate shoreline. Waves may even reach parking lots close to shore and near sea level. 

bandon-1047To stand at the edge of the sea, to sense the ebb and flow of the tides, to feel the breath of a mist moving over a great salt marsh, to watch the flight of shore birds that have swept up and down the surf lines of the continents for untold thousands of years, to see the running of the old eels and the young shad to the sea, is to have knowledge of things that are as nearly eternal as any earthly life can be.”
― Rachel Carson

27 thoughts on “waves

    • I had to drive out to the beach one time during one of our wild storms (had an appointment nearby). Then I went to check out the beach. It was a phenomenal struggle just to open the car door and the wind gusts nearly knocked me off my feet. Not to mention what it might have done to the camera. Then on the drive home, the wind was bending the trees down almost horizontal over the road. I think I’m getting a bit too old to be taking those sorts of chances. Possibly even more so after watching videos of folks being swept out to sea and drowning from one of our “sneaker” waves… exceptionally huge and powerful and unexpected. I’ve come to the conclusion that it simply isn’t worth the discomfort and risking life and limb. Perhaps it might have been in younger days.

      I was also close to the beach one time when there was a rare lightning storm. Thought about trying to catch a lightning bolt out over the ocean, but instantly thought better of it. There is fancy equipment that senses a lightning strike and automatically fires off the shot, but not having that… no way was I going to try it.

      Like

    • I was definitely tempted, but I haven’t fully recovered from that nasty cold energy-wise. Then, too, I remembered going out in a storm and really struggling to get the car door open against the wind. Then nearly getting knocked over myself. Not to mention the trees along the road to the beach that have been known to crash down being uprooted by the wind. Too many things had me taking a pass this time. And I didn’t even mention what that sort of wind and spray might have done to the camera or lens.

      Like

    • I’m pretty much aware of how powerful and unpredictable the waves can be during high surf warnings, but there are places up on the cliffs that should be safe enough unless I get knocked over by the wind. There have been occasions when I’ve had to really struggle just to open the car door. At that point, I figure it’s time to head home to a nice bowl of soup and snuggle up with a good book! 🙂 But I very much appreciate the concern!!!

      Like

  1. Quite the wind, eh? And maybe you WILL get out tomorrow, and maybe the waves will still be high, but certainly this is a lovely image, with it’s waves going this way and that. On our side, it was flood watches, but the power never went out so it’s all good!

    Like

    • We had some really strong wind gusts that had me concerned for the power, too, but I suspect that the ground isn’t saturated enough for the trees to get knocked over onto the power lines. Definitely no flood watches for us so far this winter.

      Like

    • Indeed we do… quite often, but not always. It’s rather eerie when I encounter a rare mild day. Makes me wonder how it got named ‘Pacific’… (calm or peaceful.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

