cheering up

I figured I could use a bit of cheering up, so looking back to August….. as the cough gradually improves and the thermometer (outside) inches up ever so slowly.dahlia-7457

dahlia-7455

dahlia-7454

dahlia-7453If you observe a really happy man you will find him building a boat, writing a symphony, educating his son, growing double dahlias in his garden or looking for dinosaur eggs in the Gobi desert. He will not be searching for happiness as if it were a collar button that has rolled under the radiator. He will not be striving for it as a goal in itself. He will have become aware that he is happy in the course of living life twenty-four crowded hours of the day.ย 
โ€• W. Beran Wolfe

40 thoughts on “cheering up

    • The thing I like about dahlias is that they are so easy around here. No trouble whatsoever, except the buds are so heavy that a wind knocks them to the ground unless you use stakes. As for better… the cold is better, but the cough still lingers and energy is really low. sigh

      Like

  1. Breathtaking! Magnificent color and outstanding detail! I’ve been fighting a cold here all week and this post certainly cheered me up…although there is not much hope for warm temps where I live!

    Like

    • I hope you didn’t get my cold! It’s taken me a good two weeks to recover pretty much, though the cough still lingers a bit and the energy has gone on vacation. Not exactly toasty here either.

      Like

    • So very glad you enjoyed the pink dahlia (which is actually a deeper magenta in real life). Given the difference in our time zones, I’ll just wish you a good night! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • So glad you enjoyed getting hit in the eyes! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The rain hasn’t reached us here. It’s been a ridiculously DRY winter down here so far. Working on the feel better part. I think the key is to refrain from trying to catch up on all that’s been neglected at the first sign of recovery. Hard thing to do. (or not do in this case!)

      Like

    • Dahlias are like that. The only problem I have with them is that the flowers are so heavy that the slightest wind storm knocks them to the ground (unless you take the trouble to stake them!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. So beautiful, Gunta…the first one looks like a little horde of baby birds sitting there with their mouths open and waiting…. What a cheery post, indeed. And I’m glad you’re beginning to feel better…and warm up a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the quote, too. I think I’ve mentioned it before, but you have quite a knack for finding the good words to share with us. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on A Maine Mama's Mind and commented:
    I had to share this beautiful photo! While the weather becomes increasingly colder in New England, as temps are still dropping, and snowstorms are beginning to become a regularity, this image makes me so happy and takes me back to warmer sunshine!! Enjoy!

    Like

    • Hah! Not so sure about the mini ice age thing. Iโ€™m looking at the thermometer outside showing 27ยบF (-2.8ยบ C)! Thatโ€™s pretty darned cold for an area that rarely gets below freezing. Even when we get that low, it doesnโ€™t last for weeks like this cold spell has. Then again itโ€™s all relative since it was down around 18ยบ F (-7.8ยบ C) when I first got hit with this nasty cold.

      Like

Leave a Reply

