sigh

Somewhere in there I lost an entire week…misc-0313The plan (best laid and all) was to share much to be thankful for with friends who happen to bake the most wonderful bread in this oven. But it occurred that the night before Feasting and Thanking, the throat was a little sore. By morning, the cough was sounding like the foghorn down by the jetty. My patient pup slept quietly by my side as I barely managed to get up to feed and allow her to take care of ‘business’.misc-0379I finally returned to the living on Tuesday and looked out the window to find the above…..  I’ll leave y’all to imagine my frustration at not finding a better setting to catch this mind-boggling bright double rainbow… as if to tease me into a relapse! But no, I gathered my strength and recovered enough to take Sissy for a run at the park today. She had much pent up energy to release, but I wasn’t quick enough to catch her in a classic running shot. I’ve made a bit of progress catching up with replies to comments and checking out your posts, but still have more to read yet. The weather has turned frigid. Last night it was around 28° (-5°C) with snow in the forecast for Friday. Give me strength…… (but not enough to photoshop the power lines and poles out of there!)misc-0381

Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses, and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet; and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me, that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people’s hats off–then, I account it high time to get to sea as soon as I can.
~Herman Melville (1819-1891. Novelist, author, teacher, sailor, poet. Moby Dick)

37 thoughts on “sigh

    • The secret is that I’m “retired” and can fritter away far too much time on the computer. For better or worse. (Except when a cold knocks me off my feet!) It’s not quite certain whether the cold is winning, or not. This one has been far too persistent. Our frigid weather hasn’t helped.

      Like

    • Thanks for the good wishes, Susan. It’s starting to feel like this cold has settled in for the long haul, just like this cold spell we been havin’. 😦 But I’m chanting my husband’s favorite reminder in my head: “this, too, shall pass…” 😉

      Like

    • I couldn’t let a rainbow that brilliant just slip away! (Though it irked me something awful not to have a nicer setting for it.) If you’ve been watching the weather back east you wouldn’t say that about being back there. I may be “better”, but the cough and sniffles are still hanging on. I don’t think this crazy cold is helping matters any.

      Like

  1. I’m so glad that you’re on the mend Gunta. I have been frustrated many times with a fabulous rainbow, seen from my window but obscured by a rather ugly mixture of telephone and power lines also. I just wish they’d put them all underground and give us photographers a break. The main reason I take so many seascapes is the landscape of Cornwall is littered with power lines. With a relatively poor population and not enough wealthy people with sharp elbows or in high places, the power lines are all over ground unlike in other parts of the country where the landscape has been preserved and the power companies have been forced to spend a bit extra. It’s a great shame. 😦

    Like

    • Thanks so much Chilli. This was one of the worst colds in recent memory. Our lines are often brought down by falling trees. I asked one of the power guys why they didn’t bury them to avoid that. I was told that it was actually more trouble to dig up the lines out of mud slides (and we have plenty of those, too!) They sure are ugly though and spoil many a good shot. Then again, the birds like to perch on them! 😉

      Like

    • For a number of reasons, I find the holidays hard to take. Sleeping through this one seemed like a pretty good idea, though the cold wasn’t much fun.

      I can’t seem to get too excited about shots around this little town, but you can click on a category (down below) called “dogs” for shots of the pup. I did one fun portrait of her awhile back at http://wp.me/pXX8J-2cC

      Like

  2. I’m glad you’re still with us, dear Gunta…and glad that you can still appreciate the marvel of the rainbows and a dog running in the park. It was a whopping three degrees this morning when I checked…and my hiking day on Sunday is projected to be only 19 degrees…so I might be making pumpkin bread instead. And in regards to the quote, I have a very similar feeling when it’s been too long since I’ve been out on the trails and in the woods….it’s very hard not to knock the hats off of people passing me in the street. 😉

    Wishing you well, my friend.

    Like

    • Thanks, Scott. It’s rather nice to still be here even if it has turned icy frigid. I’d just as soon not have to encounter them single digits again though. But I bet the mountains are sparkling (unless there’s one of the damned inversions.) Pumpkin bread sounds like a good idea.

      Like

  3. Beautiful photographs, even some irony in the double rainbow outshining
    the power lines, that one bird in flight. Great fire, I thought it looked like
    a brick oven, how great is that.
    Glad you’re up and about. I have a friend who complained she wasn’t
    feeling well enough to drink herself through the Thanskgiving dinner and
    very annoyed. Going back to bed works, too.

    Like

    • Urggh, those damned power lines! Seemed like they spawned just for that picture. But the rainbow didn’t seem at all intimidated! 😉
      When I’m sick, there’s just not much I can do but crash. This one lasted quite a bit longer than usual. Could be age adding to that slower recovery. 😦

      Like

    • Thanks, Beth. Love your friend in your gravatar! Wishing I had that warm, cozy brick oven here right now. It has turned unreasonably cold here lately. I will feel a whole bunch better when the weather warms up.

      Like

    • It’s such a joy to see her running, especially after she’s been cooped up for a bit. I did have a neighbor kid walk her a couple of times during that week, but that’s not nearly enough. I’m hoping to make it to the beach for a proper run tomorrow.

      Like

    • It really is nice in there during the winter. It’s a small brick oven bakery for the best bread ever. It gets really toasty warm when he has the over fired up. I wish I’d managed to get a shot while the bread was in the oven. I suspect I don’t get up early enough in the morning.

      Like

    • $hit happens…. I’m really not all that big on holiday celebrations, but this could have been a small, pleasant gathering. When hubby was alive, I tended to do the turkey on the wrong day, so I could always continue that tradition! 🙂 You feel better, too!

      Like

    • You have no idea how frustrating it was not to catch that rainbow out at the beach! It’s getting harder to stay warm. It keeps getting colder with some forecasts of snow! Yikes!!! But feeling a bit better every day.

      Like

  4. So sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather! Not a good time with all this frigid weather upon us. And it’s only going to get colder in the next few days. with possibly some snowflakes mixed in. Brrrr! Take care of yourself and don’t worry about getting photos. There’s plenty more down the road. You do such a beautiful job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

