sunset

Back to Friday’s lovely sunset. sunset-0279Saturday was a series of uninspiring daytime shots, because it was the sort of day most folks associate with summer at the beach; warm, no wind to speak of, a perfectly calm sea and not a cloud to be seen. Amazingly enough it was actually warmer right on the beach than a short distance inland. But I can’t show you what it looked like. I’d forgotten to charge the battery since the trip to Shasta (near the end of October) and, of course, I rarely remember to shut it off. To top it all off, I had taken the memory card out the previous night and forgotten to reinsert it. Normally, the camera would tell me the card was missing, so I blithely shot away, but with the battery missing, it apparently didn’t have the juice to warn me… or I might have inserted the spare battery and card. I don’t think any of us are missing much from that particular outing. Except the walk was pleasant.

“You said you were going for a walk!? What kind of walk takes six hours?”
“A long one?” 
― Cassandra ClareCity of Glass

 

34 thoughts on “sunset

  1. A stunning image! Oh, how frustrating, to be shooting like that without knowing it wasn’t “taking” but you have the grace to let it go. The damn cards can get away sometimes, and the batteries can run out faster than we expected and we THOUGHT there was another one handy that was already charged, and where’s that filter? 😉

    Like

    • I was just thrilled that the battery didn’t decide to die the night of this sunset. That would have been frustrating. But I really didn’t think I had any shots that were memorable the night of the dead battery. It might help to pay a bit more attention to the details.

      Like

  2. Oh yes, been there, done that! I have a feeling that there will be many more spectacular scenes yet to capture here! And a big THANK YOU for your support Gunta, you are most kind my friend!

    Like

  3. Excellent!

    I have a routine that helps me to not forget the important things, like the battery. I charge the battery every Friday when I finish my walk for that day, that way I know that it’s charged for the weekend. As soon as the battery is charged, it goes into the camera, and I do a quick check to make sure that the camera functions. As soon as I step outside, either my apartment or my car, I turn the camera on and check to see that it works, and that the settings are correct.

    Like

  4. I was out yesterday with ,my small camera….checked it when we left the house and it showed all bars full. Got to the Oregon Olive Mill with an amazing view of Mt. Hood and the camera took one shot and then showed no juice to the system. The iPhone had to capture all other shots. Oh well.

    Like

  5. Fantastic photo! Thats unlucky you forgot your card :/ I done that when I went on vacation. Left it in the macbook back home, and had to purchase another card the next day. I missed out on some great photo opportunities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

