what a glorious sunset it was…

Judging by the number of tripods on the beach it was another photo workshop going on….. they lucked out with a very lovely sunset…  tripods seem to be sprouting up all over. This scares me a little. I picture mobs of tripods cluttering what once I felt to be a beach I had pretty much to myself quite often….. sunset-0269 it brings to mind a quote I’ve used before:

We drove 22 miles into the country around Farmington. There were meadows and apple orchards. White fences trailed through the rolling fields. Soon the sign started appearing. THE MOST PHOTOGRAPHED BARN IN AMERICA. We counted five signs before we reached the site. There were 40 cars and a tour bus in the makeshift lot. We walked along a cowpath to the slightly elevated spot set aside for viewing and photographing. All the people had cameras; some had tripods, telephoto lenses, filter kits. A man in a booth sold postcards and slides — pictures of the barn taken from the elevated spot. We stood near a grove of trees and watched the photographers. Murray maintained a prolonged silence, occasionally scrawling some notes in a little book. 

“No one sees the barn,” he said finally. 

A long silence followed. 

“Once you’ve seen the signs about the barn, it becomes impossible to see the barn.”

He fell silent once more. People with cameras left the elevated site, replaced by others.

We’re not here to capture an image, we’re here to maintain one. Every photograph reinforces the aura. Can you feel it, Jack? An accumulation of nameless energies.” 

There was an extended silence. The man in the booth sold postcards and slides. 

“Being here is a kind of spiritual surrender. We see only what the others see. The thousands who were here in the past, those who will come in the future. We’ve agreed to be part of a collective perception. It literally colors our vision. A religious experience in a way, like all tourism.” 

Another silence ensued. 

“They are taking pictures of taking pictures,” he said. 
― Don DeLilloWhite Noise

and I did indeed take pictures of the folks taking pictures….. 😀

40 thoughts on “what a glorious sunset it was…

  1. I hope for your sake this does not happen as I believe walking the beach with few around you is a religious experience of sorts. This image took my breath away Gunta. I can’t seem to take my eyes off of it, but if I don’t I won’t know what else you have awaiting me. 🙂

    Like

    • Awww, Susan. That’s got to be one of the nicest comments I’ve ever received! Thank you ever so much! Then again I feel very much the same about your images….. a mutual admiration society perhaps?

      Like

      • And you do have such a grand location, too. I feel the same way about “my” mountains…I’m glad people want to be out there in them, enjoying them as I do…but they have five or six other days in which to do so…I’d selfishly like a bit of quiet and solitude when I’m out there…don’t want any voices on the trail or tripods in my view. 😉

        Like

    • I’ve looked them up, these are not mere camera clubs. They’re being charged a pretty hefty fee to traipse around my *beach*! 😀 But that night’s sunset gave them their money’s worth I would think.

      Like

    • I know I should, but I can never be bothered with a tripod either. For me it’s all about walking the beach with the dog…. with here a click and there a click… I just want to enjoy and keep it fun. (BTW… don’t mind me… I just like a good mutter, grumble now and then!) 😉

      Like

  2. Wonderful post, and the quote you chose is spot on. Sometimes I think of photography like fishing: many serious fishermen never give away the location of their favorite fishing holes. Photographers can easily follow suit.

    Like

    • I wish! But tourism is the town’s main source of income, so it would be foolish to try to discourage it. It just seems that I’ve tended to discover some marvelous spots only to see them inundated with mobs to the point where I don’t want to go there anymore. I also seem to have a tendency to mutter when it’s not all that big a deal for much of the year except in summer. I can surely understand why people and photo workshops would want to come here.

      Like

    • Thanks for the kind words! As for the last remark… [big grin]… I’d say it’s a bit more than a tad!!! I’m pretty ambivalent about showing the world ”MY’ beautiful beach and keeping it all to myself!

      Like

Leave a Reply

