Climbing Mt Shasta

Well, no… I didn’t literally climb it. I was feeling the altitude, even at a mere 3,600 ft (1097 m) where I had spent the night in Mount Shasta City. After all, I’m used to living pretty close to sea level. Shasta-9885Luckily there was the Everitt Memorial Highway easily taking me up close to 8,000 ft (2438 m). I passed a few signs pointing out that I would need a permit to actually hike past tree line and into the designated wilderness area at 10,000 ft. (3048 m) in order to reach the summit at 14,179 ft (4321 m). Naturally I opted to let the car do the climbing for me and didn’t go beyond the nice highway. It looked pretty stark up there anyway.

Shasta-9883Seeing the summit up close was impressive. This was the view near Bunny Flat at roughly 6900 ft (2103 m).Shasta-9892I’ll admit to being a bit disappointed that the snow from my previous visit had mostly melted. Then again, seeing the varied colors and details of the peak was far better than I had expected. A good view of Avalanche Gulch, one of the more popular routes to climb Mt Shasta. You’ll be getting a closer look at it from shots taken near the end of the road. You might even get to see why it’s called Avalanche Gulch. 😉 Click HERE for a site that describes the climb. I found it well worth the read. But it did nothing to encourage me to attempt the climb. 😉Shasta-9440For those of you who might have missed it, this is what the mountain looked like on a previous trip I made October 2nd, after Typhoon Pabuk from Japan kicked up a very impressive storm on our side of the Pacific, with high winds and lots of rain. At Mt Shasta’s higher elevations it came down as snow. After a mere three weeks of very warm and dry days, most of the snow had melted away.Shasta-9904This is the site of a huge avalanche which ripped out ancient trees and sent boulders tumbling down the slopes.

Click on any image for a slideshow and a bit more detail.Shasta-9910If you can find them, there’s two people on the nearest ridge – they’re halfway between the clump of trees at the right edge and the next single tree to the left, or nearly midway across. The woman has a light colored blouse and the man, to her left, is wearing something dark.Shasta-9906This looks like it might have provided part of the jumble of boulders strewn everywhere. I’m quite positive I wouldn’t want to be climbing that hummer. 🙂

As long as I live, I’ll hear waterfalls and birds and winds sing. I’ll interpret the rocks, learn the language of flood, storm, and the avalanche. I’ll acquaint myself with the glaciers and wild gardens, and get as near the heart of the world as I can.
― John Muir

55 thoughts on “Climbing Mt Shasta

    • Knowing what the weather had been like, I suspected that much of it might be gone when I returned, but it was nearly totally gone in those three weeks. Perhaps I’ll go back again.

      Like

  1. Your images convey a sense of space and desolation in these high altitudes. Your comment about living at sea level made me smile wryly as I remembered the time we went snorkelling in Maui in the morning and then drove to the top of Haleakala in the afternoon. Crazy!

    Like

    • Absolutely crazy. I suspect that age contributes to the effects of altitude. Or it could have been the train that kept me awake all night, but I was gasping from very short hikes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

