colors of the evening

Bandon-9011Just the right combination of clouds and approaching sunset, with touches of reflections… what more could one ask for?

Lu… this elephant rock area is where most of the shots have been taken that you’ve asked about, except those have been down on the beach when the tide was much lower and it was possible to get in closer to that area where the pointy rock is.

Annie- that’s my friend walking Sissy down on the beach, while I paused up on the cliff to snap a pic.Bandon-9017

Admit it. You aren’t like them. You’re not even close. You may occasionally dress yourself up as one of them, watch the same mindless television shows as they do, maybe even eat the same fast food sometimes. But it seems that the more you try to fit in, the more you feel like an outsider, watching the “normal people” as they go about their automatic existences. For every time you say club passwords like “Have a nice day” and “Weather’s awful today, eh?”, you yearn inside to say forbidden things like “Tell me something that makes you cry” or “What do you think deja vu is for?”. Face it, you even want to talk to that girl in the elevator. But what if that girl in the elevator (and the balding man who walks past your cubicle at work) are thinking the same thing? Who knows what you might learn from taking a chance on conversation with a stranger? Everyone carries a piece of the puzzle. Nobody comes into your life by mere coincidence. Trust your instincts. Do the unexpected. Find the others
― Timothy Leary

30 thoughts on “colors of the evening

    • Thanks Rachael. That was a rather spooky evening at the beach with some weird stuff washed up (bottom right corner). Keep in mind (or something that pops into my mind) is the Fukushima disaster. I can’t help but think about the stuff that’s bound to drift our way over time… perhaps already!
      Timothy Leary was one of my heroes back in the hippy days (daze?) I know it got a lot of bad press, but there was much good to be had out of it, too.

      Like

  1. Very atmospheric photos! And I feel like I have a closer connection to the subject, having just returned from 2 days out on the Olympic Peninsula, with a trip to Second Beach & one to Rialto Beach. Both days were fog-filled and somewhat gloomy, but gorgeous still. I thought of you often!

    Like

  2. Spectacular! Thanks for sharing where these shots were taken. And the only thing more one could ask for is to be there again! 🙂 The Timothy Leary piece is just wonderful Gunta. You seem to find the perfect quotes for your images.

    Like

    • I honestly wish I could (deep inside) claim credit, but I just seem to trip across both the shots and the quotes…. especially the quotes which just appear to pop up for me at random. But I’m lovin’ that you’re liking them…. 😀

      Like

    • These were shot about a month ago. I think there had been a storm because the beach was really strange that night and the clouds were mesmerizing. I had never seen a huge puddle like the one you see trapped on the beach. What made it even stranger was the stuff that shows in the bottom right corner of the second shot. It was like a deposit of dirty salt. My friend decided to keep Sissy on the leash that night to keep her away from it. As for me, I paused for that first shot up on the cliff above the beach.

      I ran into a fellow one time, coming up the stairs from the beach, all out of breath, notifying me that he had counted 130 steps to reach the top! I haven’t verified that myself, but I can always judge what sort of shape I’m in by how many times I stop to catch my breath. Having said all that…. I wonder if a bit of the comparative size might not be an optical illusion created by a wide angle lens. 😉

      Like

  3. Love the quote and it’s true..Sooooooooo, you want honesty do you? I can make ” conversation” The latter photograph prompts a Love/Hate relationship .
    I love your work and hate you for being there ( just kidding and soliciting impromptu conversation as Tim suggested ??)

    Like

  4. This is what I call a “gentle” evening. It usually includes a temperature neither notably warm nor cool, and little if any breeze. I love these every bit as much as the bombast of blazing skies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

