Weed

Weed, California. What’s the opposite of an oxymoron?

A quaint little once-upon-a-logging town with a lovely view of Mt Shasta. How could I resist taking this particular shot? Though I generally try to keep the manmade out of most of my images, it’s never a rule set in concrete -very little ever is. πŸ˜‰

Weed is also mentioned in John Steinbeck’s novelΒ Of Mice and MenΒ (first published 1937) as being the town that George Milton and Lennie Small are fleeing from at the beginning of the book. (Wikipedia)

Weed-9433

The Chinese say that there is no scenery in your home town. They’re right. Being in another place heightens the senses, allows you to see more, enjoy more, take delight in small things; it makes life richer. You feel more alive, less cocooned.
― Jane Wilson-Howarth,Β A Glimpse of Eternal Snows: A Journey of Love and Loss in the Himalayas

24 thoughts on “Weed

  1. I’ll offer that the Chinese are mistaken…just looking out my back door and window right now…huge, fluffy, white clouds only slightly moving over the snow-touched mountaintops out there… And that’s a beautiful mountain you’ve shared with us here, too…so very nice.

    Like

  2. Interesting quote…but It’s been my experience that every Chinese person talks with great affection for and enthusiasm about their lao jia (hometown). They love to tell you about the best sights to see, and speak of it’s beauty and charm, etc. And that goes for minority peoples of the Himalayas, which we live among. Lovely photos! There is also a Weed, NM, near my lao jia :-).

    Like

    • If I can put forth my interpretation of the saying…. I feel great affection for my home town, but I tend to see it with fresh eyes when I return from a trip elsewhere. Does that make more sense?

      Like

    • I love comparing the artistic rendition of the mountain to the real thing. I very much agree with the Chinese saying, too. Though I often find that I see my home town or area with fresh eyes when I return.

      Like

    • So many wonders right here pretty close. Weed is a mere 230 miles from me, though the mountain can be seen from just across the border to California which is much closer to me (about 175 mi). I have to admit to being extremely lucky surrounded by all this natural beauty.

      Like

    • The mountain itself is pretty magical, but just one of many in the chain of volcanoes (mostly dormant) that make up the Cascade Range starting in southern British Columbia, extending to the northern part of California. Perhaps much of its beauty lies in its visibility since it rises suddenly by some 10,000 ft (3,000 m) above the surrounding terrain. Perhaps a good part of its appeal is that the area surrounding it is mostly National Forest, thus development has been kept to a minimum.

      Like

Leave a Reply

