Mt Shasta

Mount Shasta looking lovely with it’s white snow cap on. For once the clouds weren’t cooperating except for the tiny wisps clinging to the mountain top, reminding me that it’s one of the magnificent volcanoes in the Cascade Range, part of the Pacific Rim of Fire. At an elevation of 14,179 feet (4,322 m), it’s the second highest peak in the Cascades and the most southerly.Shasta-9419

The fact that a cloud from a minor volcanic eruption in Iceland—a small disturbance in the complex mechanism of life on the Earth—can bring to a standstill the aerial traffic over an entire continent is a reminder of how, with all its power to transform nature, humankind remains just another species on the planet Earth. 
― Slavoj Žižek

24 thoughts on “Mt Shasta

    • You may have noticed that I’m doing a bit of a series on the Shasta trip. Please feel free to correct if I get anything wrong given that I’m mostly relying on Wiki for my sources about this fascinating and beautiful volcano.

      Like

      • Our cabin was a few miles south of there off I-5 at the Dunsmuir Exit and a 45 minute drive on a lonely logging road up past Castle Craggs State Park (5000′ elevation). Shasta City got my visit a few times but that whole area was a “power center” for gurus and rich neurotics, so I enjoyed its commanding presence from afar (visible for miles, as you know) and wouldn’t say I have much direct knowledge of the mountain itself.

        ‘Lil ol’ Dunsmuir, on the other hand, had 5 bars, 1 laundromat, a public library, and a police station. I know each intimately, should you be interested. 🙂

        Like

  1. yay…this is lovely. When it snows here, (almost never) sometimes we get snow on the peaks for a bit of the day before it melts off. It’s pretty!

    Like

    • Shasta is quite pretty, though I might have appreciated a cloud or two or, better yet, one of them lenticular clouds that look like space ships hovering over the mountain. However I expect I was lucky to catch it with the snow cap on. I suspect it may have arrived with the storm we had awhile back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

